

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Agenda - Final

TRIBAL COUNCIL

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Joe Byrd, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

5:00 PM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Joe Byrd Speaker of the Council

INVOCATION

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain Coke Legal & Legislative Coordinator

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

September 14, 2020 - Regular Session September 24, 2020 - Special Session

STATE OF THE NATION

Chuck Hoskin, Jr. Principal Chief

ACTION OF UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None pending.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Monthly Reports:

Cherokee Nation Business, LLC - Chuck Garrett

OLD BUSINESS

None Pending.

NEW BUSINESS

Rules Committee

1.	20-050	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF VIVIAN GARNER COTTRELL AS AN ADVISORY MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES ADVISORY COMMITTEE Sponsors: Victoria Vazquez, Keith Austin, Harley Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Julia Coates,		
			Shawn Crittenden, Joe Deere, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Rex Jordan, Daryl Legg, Dora Patzkowski, Wes Nofire, Mike Shambaugh, Mary Baker Shaw, E. O. "JR." Smith and Janees Taylor	
2.	20-051	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF VRYL KEETER AS AN ADVISORY MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES ADVISORY COMMITTEE		
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Victoria Vazquez, Keith Austin, Harley Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Julia Coates, Shawn Crittenden, Joe Deere, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Rex Jordan, Daryl Legg, Wes Nofire, Dora Patzkowski, Mike Shambaugh, Mary Baker Shaw, E. O. "JR." Smith and Janees Taylor	
3.	20-052	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF KENDRA MCGEADY AS MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION GAMING COMMISSION		
		Sponsors:	Victoria Vazquez, Mike Shambaugh, E. O. "JR." Smith, Canaan Duncan, Keith Austin and Janees Taylor	
4.	<u>20-053</u>	A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING A LIMITED WAIVER OF SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY IN CONNECTION WITH THE OKLAHOMA TOBACCO SETTLEMENT ENDOWMENT TRUST COOPERATIVE AGREEMENT		
		Sponsors:	Daryl Legg	
5.	<u>20-054</u>	ACT RELATING TO THE NAMING OF THE SALLIE BYRD SEVENSTAR COMMUNITY CENTER		
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Daryl Legg, Joe Byrd, Harley Buzzard, Keith Austin, Julia Coates, Shawn Crittenden, Joe Deere, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Wes Nofire, Mike Shambaugh, Mary Baker Shaw, E. O. "JR." Smith, Janees Taylor and Victoria Vazquez	
6.	<u>20-058</u>	AN ACT REVISING AND RESTATING TITLE 26 ("ELECTIONS") OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED		
		Sponsors:	Mike Dobbins	
7.	<u>20-056</u>	AN ACT AMENDING TITLE 26 SECTION 5 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED TO RECOGNIZE THE TRADITIONAL CHEROKEE NAMES OF THE REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICTS		
		Sponsors:	Joe Byrd	

8. <u>20-057</u>

AN ACT AMENDING TITLE 26 SECTION 78 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED TO ENHANCE AND EXPAND THE VERIFICATION OF IDENTIFICATION OF CHEROKEE CITIZENS VOTING THROUGH ABSENTEE BALLOTS

Sponsors: Julia Coates and Mary Baker Shaw

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Monday, November 16th at 6:00 p.m.