

## Council of the Cherokee Nation Agenda - Final

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

## **RULES COMMITTEE**

Mike Shambaugh, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Thursday, February 29, 2024

1:00 PM

**Tribal Council Offices** 

CALL TO ORDER

**INVOCATION** 

ROLL CALL

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

January 22, 2024 - Regular session

REPORTS:

Marshal Service - Shannon Buhl

Office of the Attorney General - Chad Harsha

FOIA-GRA - Gwen Terrapin

Tax Commission - Sharon Swepston

Gaming Commission - Audra Imhoff

Human Resources - Samantha Hendricks

**OLD BUSINESS** 

None pending.

**NEW BUSINESS** 

1. <u>24-009</u>

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF VIVIAN COTTRELL AS AN ADVISORY MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

		Sponsors:	Victoria Vazquez, Julia Coates, Joe Deere, E. O. "JR." Smith, Daryl Legg and Mike Shambaugh
2.	<u>24-010</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF VRYL KEETER AS AN ADVISORY MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES ADVISORY COMMITTEE	
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Victoria Vazquez, Joe Deere, Julia Coates, Mike Shambaugh and E. O. "JR." Smith
3.	<u>24-011</u>	VERNA D. THOMPSON EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION ACT OF 2021; 2024 AMENDMENTS	
		Sponsors:	Candessa Tehee, Mike Shambaugh, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith and Joshua Sam
4.	24-012	AN ACT ESTABLISHING TITLE 73 CHAPTER 2 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE	
		Sponsors:	Mike Shambaugh, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Johnny Kidwell, Kevin Easley, Danny Callison, Joe Deere, Candessa Tehee and Julia Coates
5.	24-013	A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING A BALLOT QUESTION ON A CONSTITUTION CONVENTION AND SETTING A SPECIAL ELECTION	
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Mike Shambaugh, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Johnny Kidwell, Kevin Easley, Danny Callison, Joe Deere, Candessa Tehee and Julia Coates
6.	TMP-410	DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON A PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO THE RULES OF PROCEDURE GOVERNING THE CHEROKEE NATION TRIBAL COUNCIL	
		Sponsors:	Julia Coates, Joe Deere, Johnny Kidwell, Danny Callison, Daryl Legg, Mike Shambaugh, Lisa Hall, Candessa Tehee, Sasha Blackfox-Qualls, Victoria Vazquez, E. O. "JR." Smith, Mike Dobbins, Melvina Shotpouch, Codey Poindexter and Joshua Sam
7.	<u>TMP-411</u>	DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION TO ACCEPT THE PRINCIPAL CHIEF'S INVITATION TO APPOINT COUNCIL LEADERSHIP TO AN EXECUTIVE / LEGISLATIVE REDISTRICTING WORK GROUP	
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Mike Shambaugh, Dora Patzkowski, Danny Callison, Victoria Vazquez, Melvina Shotpouch and E. O. "JR." Smith
	ANNOUNC	ANNOUNCEMENTS	

The next meeting is tentatively scheduled for Thursday, March 28th at 1:00 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT