

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Meeting Minutes - Final

CULTURE COMMITTEE

Victoria Vazquez, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org		
Monday, November 6, 2023	10:00 AM	Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Vazquez called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

INVOCATION

Chair Vazquez gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

 Present 16 - Victoria Vazquez; Candessa Tehee; Danny Callison; Julia Coates; Johnny Kidwell; Joshua Sam; Mike Shambaugh; E. O. "JR." Smith; Melvina Shotpouch; Sasha Blackfox-Qualls; Joe Deere; Kevin Easley Jr.; Lisa Hall; Daryl Legg; Dora Patzkowski and Codey Poindexter

Absent 1 - Mike Dobbins

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Patzkowski moved to approve as submitted. Councilor Shambaugh seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

Cultural Tourism - Molly Jarvis

Ms. Jarvis gave highlights from the report and offered to answer any questions. Councilor Callison inquired about the art in the AMO Clinic and the children's center. Councilor Coates inquired about the traveling exhibits also going to At Large events. Chair Vazquez commented on the Roy Boney exhibit at the Cultural Pathway. Councilor Smith inquired about the possibility of SkasdiCon being a two day event instead of one.

Cherokee Nation Language Department - Howard Paden

Mr. Paden gave highlights from the report provided and then offered to answer questions from the report. Councilor Poindexter gave appreciation for recent assistance and expressed excitement for the Speakers Services Program. Chair

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464 Vazquez commented on the vast number of programs and activities within the department.

Community & Cultural Outreach - Savannah Smith

Ms. Taralee Montgomery offered to take questions in the absence of Ms. Smith.

Cherokee National Treasures Advisory Committee - Betty Frogg / Donetta Johnson

Ms. Frogg read the report into the record and offered to answer any questions.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

None pending.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Patzkowski moved to adjourn. Councilor Shambaugh seconded the motion. The motion carried at 10:20 a.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Howard Paden Shella Bowlin Betty Frogg

Taralee Montgomery

VISITORS PRESENT:

Teddye Snell

John Young

Molly Jarvis