

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final

HEALTH COMMITTEE

Dr. Mike Dobbins, Chair

| | Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org | |
|-----------------------|--|------------------------|
| Monday, July 15, 2024 | 1:00 PM | Tribal Council Offices |

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Dobbins called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

INVOCATION

Chair Dobbins gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 17 - Mike Shambaugh; Mike Dobbins; Candessa Tehee; Victoria Vazquez; E. O. "JR." Smith; Joshua Sam; Melvina Shotpouch; Danny Callison; Johnny Kidwell; Sasha Blackfox-Qualls; Lisa Hall; Daryl Legg; Codey Poindexter; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere; Kevin Easley Jr. and Julia Coates

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Deere moved to approve. Councilor Patzkowski seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

Claremore Service Unit - George Valliere

Mr. Valliere gave highlights from the report then offered to take any questions. Councilor Callison requested clarification on the decrease in 3rd party revenue. Councilor Blackfox-Qualls congratulated them on the baby friendly recertification.

Cherokee Nation Health Services - Dr. Steve Jones

Mr. Hail gave highlights from the report and reminded everyone of the topping out ceremony for the new hospital on July 25th. He offered to answer any questions. Councilor Deere commented on a discussion held during the Inter-Tribal Session pertaining to non-native spouses of natives getting prescriptions and requested this be researched.

Cherokee Nation Public Health - Lisa Pivec & Dr. David Gahn

Ms. Pivec gave highlights from the report. She announced the wellness spaces at both Marble City and Kenwood are now included in the report. She offered to answer any questions. Councilor Easley gave gratitude to the Public Health team for their efforts during the tornado cleanup.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

None pending.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Shotpouch moved to adjourn. Councilor Poindexter seconded the motion. The motion carried at 1:12 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Brian Hail Brooke Neff Lisa Pivec

Taralee Montgomery

VISITORS PRESENT:

Carl Murray John Young George Valliere

Teddye Snell