

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Tribal Council Minutes - Final TRIBAL COUNCIL

Thursday, August 26, 2021

3:00 PM

Tribal Council Offices

SPECIAL SESSION CALLED BY CHIEF HOSKIN

CALL TO ORDER

Speaker of the Council

Rules Chairman Shambaugh called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Shotpouch gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain Coke

Legal & Legislative Coordinator

Present 16 - Rex Jordan; Daryl Legg; Shawn Crittenden; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere;

Keith Austin; Julia Coates; Johnny Kidwell; Candessa Tehee; Danny Callison; Joshua Sam; Melvina Shotpouch; Mike Dobbins; E. O. "JR."

Smith; Mike Shambaugh and Victoria Vazquez

Absent 1 - Wes Nofire

NEW BUSINESS

21-076 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF JANEES TAYLOR AS TREASURER

OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Keith Austin, Victoria Vazquez, Dora Patzkowski, Shawn Crittenden,

Rex Jordan, Mike Dobbins, Julia Coates, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR."

Smith, Joe Deere, Mike Shambaugh, Candessa Tehee and Ms. Melvina

Shotpouch

 $\label{lem:councilor-variance} \textbf{Councilor Vazquez made a motion to approve. } \textbf{Councilor Austin seconded the}$

motion. The motion carried.

Treasurer Taylor was sworn into office by Justice Shawna Baker.

Enactment No: R-038-21

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Councilors announced the passing of Cherokees who have passed recently including our Registrar Frankie Hargis. A moment of silence was given to those who passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Vazquez moved to adjourn. Councilor Patzkowski seconded the motion. The motion carried at $3:09\ p.m.$

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Monday, September 13th at 5:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.