

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final

RULES COMMITTEE

Mike Shambaugh, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org		
Friday, December 6, 2024	9:00 AM	Tribal Council Offices

SPECIAL SESSION

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Shambaugh called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Shotpouch gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Councilor Coates attended remotely.

Present 16 - Candessa Tehee; Danny Callison; Joshua Sam; Melvina Shotpouch; E. O. "JR." Smith; Mike Shambaugh; Johnny Kidwell; Sasha Blackfox-Qualls; Lisa Hall; Daryl Legg; Codey Poindexter; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere; Kevin Easley Jr.; Julia Coates and Kendra McGeady

Absent 1 - Mike Dobbins

NEW BUSINESS

1. 24-111 AN ACT RELATING TO AND APPROVING THE MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION AND LICENSE TAG COMPACT BETWEEN THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA AND THE CHEROKEE NATION

> Councilor Easley moved to approve. Councilor Deere seconded the motion. Chief Hoskin made a few comments, gave appreciation to AG Harsha for the hard work and dedication in the compact negotiations. AG Harsha commented on the unique long standing compact with the State and that the At Large portion of the compact was crucial. He gave a high level overview of the compact changes as well as the turnpike fees. Councilor Callison inquired if there was any truth to the Cherokee Nation tags being the only tags that couldn't be read on the turnpike. Councilor Tehee inquired about the coordination with our registration department and the State to confirm citizenship if a state tag agency is chosen instead of a Cherokee tag office. Councilor Sam inquired about the overall funding effect. Several Councilors commented on the great work of Attorney General Harsha in the compact negotiations.

Following discussion all Councilors requested to be listed as sponsors. The motion to approve carried unanimously.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Deere moved to adjourn. Councilor Easley seconded the motion. The motion carried at 9:23 a.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Daniel Mead Brooke Neff Canaan Duncan Chad Harsha Corey Bunch Julie Hubbard Sharon Swepston Jody Reece

VISITORS PRESENT:

John Young

Teddye Snell

Tulsa World Reporter