

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Agenda - Final

TRIBAL COUNCIL

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Tina Glory-Jordan, Speaker

	Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org		
Monday, June 16, 2014	6:00 PM	Council Chambers	

CALL TO ORDER Tina Glory-Jordan Speaker of the Council

INVOCATION

ROLL CALL Shelli Brittain Legal & Legislative Coordinator

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

May 12, 2014 - Regular session

STATE OF THE NATION Bill John Baker Principal Chief

CHEROKEE WARRIOR VETERAN AWARDS S. Joe Crittenden Deputy Principal Chief

ACTION OF UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None pending.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Monthly Reports:

Housing Authority - Gary Cooper

Cherokee Nation Business, LLC - Shawn Slaton

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

Education and Culture Committee

- 1. <u>TMP-300</u> DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION: THE CHEROKEE NATION EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIP DOCTORAL PROGRAM
 - Sponsors:Tina Glory Jordan, David Walkingstick, Jack D. Baker, Mr. Harley
Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Julia Coates, Cara Cowan Watts, Jodie Fishinghawk,
Janelle Fullbright, Don Garvin, Frankie Hargis, Lee Keener, Dick Lay,
Curtis Snell, Janees Taylor, David Thornton and Victoria Vazquez
- 2. <u>14-047</u> AN ACT RELATING TO AN AMENDMENT TO THE CONCURRENT ENROLLMENT SCHOLARSHIP ACT OF 2011 TO REVISE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
 - Sponsors:David Walkingstick, Jack D. Baker, Mr. Harley Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Julia
Coates, Cara Cowan Watts, Jodie Fishinghawk, Janelle Fullbright, Don
Garvin, Tina Glory Jordan, Frankie Hargis, Lee Keener, Dick Lay, Curtis
Snell, Janees Taylor, David Thornton and Victoria Vazquez

Executive and Finance Committee

- 3. <u>14-052</u> A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE DEVELOPMENT AND SUBMISSION OF A GRANT APPLICATION TO THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE FOR A SECOND CHANCE ACT COMPREHENSIVE COMMUNITY-BASED ADULT REENTRY PROGRAM UTILIZING MENTORS
 - Sponsors:Tina Glory Jordan, Jack D. Baker, Mr. Harley Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Cara
Cowan Watts, Janelle Fullbright, Don Garvin, Frankie Hargis, Lee
Keener, Dick Lay, Curtis Snell, Janees Taylor, David Thornton, Victoria
Vazquez and David Walkingstick
- 4. <u>14-053</u> A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION WAREHOUSE TO DONATE SURPLUS OFFICE EQUIPMENT TO LOCUST GROVE POLICE DEPARTMENT IN MAYES COUNTY

Sponsors: Janees Taylor

- 5. <u>14-054</u> AN ACT AMENDING LEGISLATIVE ACT #22-13 AUTHORIZING THE COMPREHENSIVE CAPITAL BUDGET FOR FISCAL YEAR 2014 - MOD 6; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY
 - Sponsors: Jodie Fishinghawk and Janees Taylor
- 6. <u>14-055</u> AN ACT AMENDING LEGISLATIVE ACT #21-13 AUTHORIZING THE COMPREHENSIVE OPERATING BUDGET FOR FISCAL YEAR 2014 - MOD 9; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY
 - **Sponsors:** Jodie Fishinghawk and Janees Taylor

Rules Committee

7.	<u>14-049</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF ROBIN MCCLAIN SMITH AS A BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE NATION COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION CORPORATION	
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	David Walkingstick, Curtis Snell and Victoria Vazquez
8.	<u>14-050</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF JENNIFER D. GOINS AS A COMMISSIONER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION GAMING COMMISSION	

- **Sponsors:** Victoria Vazquez, David Walkingstick and Curtis Snell
- 9. <u>14-051</u> A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE SUBMISSION FOR TRIBAL HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICE STATUS WITH THE NATIONAL PARK SERVICE
 - **Sponsors:** Victoria Vazquez, Jack D. Baker, Mr. Harley Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Julia Coates, Cara Cowan Watts, Jodie Fishinghawk, Janelle Fullbright, Don Garvin, Tina Glory Jordan, Frankie Hargis, Lee Keener, Dick Lay, Curtis Snell, Janees Taylor, David Thornton and David Walkingstick
- 10.
 14-043
 AN ACT AMENDING LA-06-98 AND LA-21-12, "CHEROKEE NATION GOVERNMENTAL RECORDS ACT" DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

 Sponsors:
 Tina Glory Jordan and Jodie Fishinghawk
- 11.
 14-044
 AN ACT AMENDING LA-25-01, LA-24-04, AND LA-04-12, "FREEDOM OF INFORMATION AND RIGHTS OF PRIVACY ACT" DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

 Sponsors:
 Tina Glory Jordan and Jodie Fishinghawk

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Monday, July 14th at 6:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.