

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Agenda - Final

TRIBAL COUNCIL

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Joe Byrd, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Monday, September 16, 2019

6:00 PM

Council Chambers

CALL TO ORDER

Joe Byrd Speaker of the Council

INVOCATION

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain Coke Legal & Legislative Coordinator

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

August 12, 2019 - Regular session August 29, 2019 - Special session

STATE OF THE NATION

Chuck Hoskin, Jr. Principal Chief

CHEROKEE WARRIOR VETERAN AWARDS

S. Joe Crittenden Secretary of Veterans Affairs

ACTION OF UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None pending.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Monthly Reports:

Cherokee Nation Business, LLC - Chuck Garrett

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

Resource Committee

1. A RESOLUTION OPPOSING A CHANGE TO FEDERAL REGULATIONS TO ALLOW 19-049 NON-INDIANS TO POSSESS AND USE EAGLE FEATHERS FOR RELIGIOUS **PURPOSES**

> Mary Baker Shaw, Keith Austin, Harley Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Shawn Sponsors:

> > Crittenden, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Rex Jordan, Mike Shambaugh,

E. O. "JR." Smith, Janees Taylor and Victoria Vazquez

Rules Committee

2. A RESOLUTION ELECTING JANEES TAYLOR TO THE OFFICE OF SECRETARY OF 19-053

THE TRIBAL COUNCIL Joe Byrd Sponsors:

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF LYNNA CARSON AS A 19-056

Sponsors:

Sponsors:

BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE NATION BUSINESSES, LLC

Austin, Joe Deere, Victoria Vazquez, Dora Patzkowski, Mike Shambaugh,

Canaan Duncan, E. O. "JR." Smith, Mike Dobbins, Daryl Legg, Keith

Joe Byrd, Rex Jordan and Janees Taylor

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF LINDA O'LEARY AS A 19-057

MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION GAMING COMMISSION

Canaan Duncan, Janees Taylor, Daryl Legg, Keith Austin, Rex Jordan,

Victoria Vazquez, E. O. "JR." Smith, Mike Dobbins, Dora Patzkowski,

Mike Shambaugh and Joe Byrd

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF 5. 19-062

THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL

DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES

Rex Jordan, Canaan Duncan, E. O. "JR." Smith, Victoria Vazquez, Joe Sponsors:

Byrd, Mary Baker Shaw, Daryl Legg, Keith Austin, Dora Patzkowski, Joe Deere, Shawn Crittenden, Mike Shambaugh, Julia Coates and Mike

Dobbins

Executive and Finance Committee

6. 19-050c AN ACT AUTHORIZING AND APPROVING THE FISCAL YEAR 2020 CAPITAL

APPROPRIATIONS BUDGET; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

Janees Taylor Sponsors:

7.	<u>19-050o</u>	AN ACT AUTHORIZING AND APPROVING THE FISCAL YEAR 2020 OPERATING BUDGET; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Janees Taylor
8.	<u>19-051</u>	AN ACT AMENDING LEGISLATIVE ACT #21-18 AUTHORIZING THE COMPREHENSIVE CAPITAL BUDGET FOR FISCAL YEAR 2019 - MOD. 5; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Janees Taylor
9.	<u>19-052</u>	AN ACT AMENDING LEGISLATIVE ACT #22-18 AUTHORIZING THE COMPREHENSIVE OPERATING BUDGET FOR FISCAL YEAR 2019 - MOD. 11A; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Janees Taylor

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Tuesday, October 15th at 6:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.