

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Agenda - Final

TRIBAL COUNCIL

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Joe Byrd, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

6:00 PM

Council Chambers

CALL TO ORDER

Joe Byrd Speaker of the Council

INVOCATION

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain Coke Legal & Legislative Coordinator

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

September 16, 2019 - Regular session

STATE OF THE NATION

Chuck Hoskin, Jr. Principal Chief

CHEROKEE WARRIOR VETERAN AWARDS

S. Joe Crittenden Secretary of Veterans Affairs

ACTION OF UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None pending.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Monthly Reports:

Cherokee Nation Business, LLC - Chuck Garrett

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

Rules Committee

1.	<u>19-066</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF CARRIE PHILPOTT AS A MEMBER OF THE REGISTRATION COMMITTEE		
		Sponsors:	Keith Austin, Janees Taylor, Rex Jordan, Mike Shambaugh, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Canaan Duncan, Joe Deere, Shawn Crittenden, Mary Baker Shaw and Joe Byrd	
2. <u>19-067</u>		A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF FARRELL PRATER AS A MEMBER OF THE REGISTRATION COMMITTEE		
		Sponsors:	Keith Austin, Janees Taylor, Rex Jordan, Mike Shambaugh, Daryl Legg, Dora Patzkowski, E. O. "JR." Smith, Victoria Vazquez, Canaan Duncan and Joe Byrd	
3.	<u>19-068</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF VALERIE ROGERS AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE COMPREHENSIVE CARE AGENCY (PACE)		
		Sponsors:	Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, Keith Austin, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Canaan Duncan and Joe Byrd	
4. <u>19-069</u>		A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF BRANDI PAYTON AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE COMPREHENSIVE CARE AGENCY (PACE)		
		Sponsors:	Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Janees Taylor, Keith Austin, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Canaan Duncan, Victoria Vazquez and Joe Byrd	
5.	<u>19-070</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF WAYNE COLDWELL AS A BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE HEALTH PARTNERS		
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Janees Taylor, Keith Austin, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Canaan Duncan, Mike Dobbins, Victoria Vazquez and Joe Byrd	
6.	<u>19-071</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF BRIAN HAIL AS A BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE HEALTH PARTNERS		
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, Keith Austin, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Canaan Duncan, Mike Dobbins, Joe Byrd and Julia Coates	

7.	<u>19-072</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF RICKY KELLY AS A BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE HEALTH PARTNERS		
		Sponsors:	Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, E. O. "JR." Smith, Daryl Legg, Keith Austin, Canaan Duncan, Mike Dobbins and Joe Byrd	
8. <u>19-073</u>		A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF DR. ROGER MONTGOMERY AS A BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE HEALTH PARTNERS		
		<u>Sponsors:</u>	Janees Taylor, Victoria Vazquez, E. O. "JR." Smith, Mike Shambaugh, Dora Patzkowski, Daryl Legg, Rex Jordan, Canaan Duncan, Mike Dobbins, Keith Austin, Wes Nofire, Mary Baker Shaw, Julia Coates, Joe Byrd and Joe Deere	
9.	<u>19-074</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF AMI SAMS AS A BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE HEALTH PARTNERS		
		Sponsors:	Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, Keith Austin, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Canaan Duncan, Mike Dobbins, Joe Byrd and Julia Coates	
10.	- ATTENDED HOTE OF		ON CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF DR. STEPHEN JONES AS	
		Sponsors:	Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, E. O. "JR." Smith, Mike Shambaugh, Daryl Legg, Rex Jordan, Joe Deere, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Keith Austin, Mary Baker Shaw, Wes Nofire, Joe Byrd and Julia Coates	
11.	<u>19-081</u>	AN AMENDMENT TO THE RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES		
		Sponsors:	Victoria Vazquez	
12.	<u>19-076</u>	THE CAREER READINESS ACT		
		Sponsors:	Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Shawn Crittenden, Keith Austin, Joe Byrd, Joe Deere, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Rex Jordan, Dora Patzkowski, Mike Shambaugh, Janees Taylor, Victoria Vazquez, Harley Buzzard, Wes Nofire and Mary Baker Shaw	
13.	<u>19-077</u>	THE DURBIN FEELING LANGUAGE PRESERVATION ACT		
		Sponsors:	Rex Jordan, Keith Austin, Dora Patzkowski, Joe Deere, Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, Mike Shambaugh, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Joe Byrd, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Shawn Crittenden, Harley Buzzard, Julia Coates, Wes Nofire and Mary Baker Shaw	

14. 19-079 AN ACT AMENDING LA-12-19; THE HOUSING, JOBS, AND SUSTAINABLE

COMMUNITIES ACT OF 2019

Sponsors: Joe Byrd, Wes Nofire, Keith Austin, Harley Buzzard, Julia Coates, Shawn

Crittenden, Joe Deere, Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Rex Jordan, Daryl Legg, Dora Patzkowski, Mike Shambaugh, Mary Baker Shaw, E. O. "JR."

Smith, Janees Taylor and Victoria Vazquez

Executive and Finance Committee

15. 19-078 AN ACT AMENDING LEGISLATIVE ACT #15-19 AUTHORIZING THE COMPREHENSIVE

OPERATING BUDGET FOR FISCAL YEAR 2020 - MOD. 1: AND DECLARING AN

EMERGENCY

Sponsors: Janees Taylor

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Tuesday, November 12th at 6:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.