

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Agenda - Final

TRIBAL COUNCIL

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Mike Shambaugh, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

5:00 PM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Mike Shambaugh Speaker of the Council

INVOCATION

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain Coke Legal & Legislative Coordinator

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

September 13, 2021 - Regular session

STATE OF THE NATION

Chuck Hoskin, Jr. Principal Chief

ACTION OF UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None pending.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Monthly Reports:

Cherokee Nation Business, LLC - Chuck Garrett

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

1.	<u>21-086</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF GABE MOSTELLER AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TRUST AUTHORITY
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Mike Dobbins
2.	<u>21-087</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF THOMAS MERRELL AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TRUST AUTHORITY
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Keith Austin
3.	<u>21-088</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF AMBER LYNN GEORGE AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION FOUNDATION
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Victoria Vazquez and Candessa Tehee
4.	<u>21-089</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF DIANNA MAYFIELD AS COMMISSIONER OF THE HOUSING AUTHORITY OF THE CHEROKEE NATION BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Rex Jordan
5.	<u>21-090</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF CANDLE MELTON AS COMMISSIONER OF THE HOUSING AUTHORITY OF THE CHEROKEE NATION BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Victoria Vazquez
6.	<u>21-091</u>	AN ACT RELATING TO CODIFYING THE BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR SEQUOYAH SCHOOLS
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Candessa Tehee and Shawn Crittenden
7.	<u>21-093</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF STEVEN HAIR AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION SEQUOYAH HIGH SCHOOL BOARD OF EDUCATION
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Mike Shambaugh and Candessa Tehee
8.	<u>21-100</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF J. BLAKE FLETCHER AS A COMMISSIONER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION COMMISSION
		<u>Sponsors:</u> E. O. "JR." Smith, Shawn Crittenden and Rex Jordan
9.	<u>21-101</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MARILYN VANN AS A COMMISSIONER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION COMMISSION
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Joe Deere, Rex Jordan, Victoria Vazquez, Mike Dobbins, Keith Austin, Dora Patzkowski and Candessa Tehee

10. 21-092 VERNA D. THOMPSON EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION ACT OF 2021

Sponsors: Mike Shambaugh, Joshua Sam, Shawn Crittenden, Rex Jordan, Victoria

Vazquez, Dora Patzkowski, Julia Coates, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith,

Candessa Tehee and Keith Austin

11. 21-094 THE COMPREHENSIVE BUILDING NAMING ACT OF 2021

Sponsors: Mike Shambaugh, Joshua Sam and Shawn Crittenden

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Monday, November 15th at 5:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.