

Council of the Cherokee Nation Agenda - Final

17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Cherokee Nation Complex

Agenda - i iliai

RULES COMMITTEE

Mike Shambaugh, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Thursday, September 29, 2022

1:00 PM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

INVOCATION

ROLL CALL

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

August 25, 2022 - Regular session

REPORTS:

Marshal Service - Shannon Buhl

Office of the Attorney General - Sara Hill

FOIA-GRA - Gwen Terrapin

Tax Commission - Sharon Swepston

Gaming Commission - Janice Purcell

Human Resources - Samantha Hendricks

OLD BUSINESS

1. 22-048 A LEGISLATIVE ACT CREATING TITLE 21, SECTION 1835.2 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED - RELATING TO OFFENSES AGAINST PROPERTY

Sponsors: Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Candessa Tehee, Keith Austin, Dora

Patzkowski and Joe Deere

NEW BUSINESS

1.	<u>22-078</u>	A RESOLUTION ELECTING A MEMBER OF THE TRIBAL COUNCIL TO THE OFFICE
		OF SECRETARY OF THE TRIBAL COUNCIL

Sponsors: Mike Shambaugh, Joe Deere, Victoria Vazquez, Rex Jordan, Keith Austin

and Danny Callison

2. 22-079 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING A TRIBAL COUNCIL APPOINTMENT TO FILL THE BOARD MEMBER SEAT OF THE CHEROKEE NATION SEQUOYAH HIGH SCHOOL BOARD OF EDUCATION

Sponsors: Mike Shambaugh, Joe Deere, Shawn Crittenden, Rex Jordan, Joshua

Sam, Keith Austin, Victoria Vazquez and Danny Callison

3. 22-076 AN ACT AMENDING TITLE 22 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED RELATING TO THE SAFETY OF NATIVE WOMEN, CHILDREN, AND JUSTICE PERSONNEL AND EXPANDING SPECIAL TRIBAL CRIMINAL JURISDICTION

Sponsors: Candessa Tehee, Dora Patzkowski, Mike Shambaugh, Victoria Vazquez,

Joe Deere, Shawn Crittenden, Joshua Sam, Rex Jordan, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Melvina Shotpouch, Julia Coates, Mike Dobbins, Keith

Austin and Danny Callison

4. 22-077 CHEROKEE ARTIST RECOVERY ACT

Sponsors: Victoria Vazquez, Dora Patzkowski, Candessa Tehee, Mike Shambaugh,

E. O. "JR." Smith, Daryl Legg, Shawn Crittenden, Joshua Sam, Melvina Shotpouch, Joe Deere, Rex Jordan, Keith Austin and Danny Callison

5. TMP-405 DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION: AMENDING THE TRIBAL COUNCIL TRAVEL EXPENSE POLICY TO INCREASE THE ELECTIVE TRAVEL EXPENSES OF THE "AT

LARGE" COUNCILORS

Sponsors: Johnny Kidwell, Julia Coates, Danny Callison, Daryl Legg, Joe Deere,

Joshua Sam, Shawn Crittenden, Candessa Tehee, Mike Dobbins, Mike

Shambaugh, Melvina Shotpouch and E. O. "JR." Smith

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next meeting is tentatively scheduled for Thursday, October 27th at 1:00 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT