

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Council House 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final EXECUTIVE AND FINANCE SUB COMMITTEE - PAC

Monday, April 22, 2013

4:30 PM

Legislative Conference Room

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Hoskin Jr. called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Glory-Jordan gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 10 - Chuck Hoskin Jr.; Buel Anglen; Jack D. Baker; Meredith Frailey; Janelle Fullbright; Don Garvin; Tina Glory Jordan; Lee Keener Jr.; Cara Cowan Watts and Jodie Fishinghawk

Absent 6 - Joe Byrd; Frankie Hargis; Curtis Snell; David Thornton, Sr.; Dick Lay and David Walkingstick

TMP-039 RECOMMENDATIONS FOR POLITICAL CONTRIBUTIONS

Chair Hoskin Jr. announced a slight revision is being provided of the proposed list earlier mailed out. Ms. Courtney Roark Thompson gave an explanation of the changes and provided account balances to date. She provided a handout of the running total for this fiscal year. Councilor Cowan Watts requested a list of what has been given to the Oklahoma delegation for this fiscal year. Chair Hoskin Jr. inquired why more funding was given to the Republicans than to the Democrats. Attorney General Hembree commented it is important to remember we give based on Cherokee interest basis not party. Councilor Keener inquired if the recommendations are based on the questionnaires. Ms. Roark Thompson gave an overview of the proposed list for approval.

Councilor Fishinghawk made a motion to approve with the addition of Republican Congressman Womack of Arkansas giving him the remaining \$700 balance in the account plus take \$650 from both the Republican House PAC and the Oklahoma House PAC. This would give Womack a total of \$2,000. Councilor Glory-Jordan seconded the motion.

Councilor Anglen requested a list of all donations for the last four years.

After discussion was held and concerns were voiced for some of the requests the motion failed with the following roll call vote:

Yea: 4 - Chuck Hoskin Jr.; Jack D. Baker; Meredith Frailey and Cara Cowan Watts

Nay: 4 - Buel Anglen; Janelle Fullbright; Don Garvin and Lee Keener Jr.

Abstain: 2 - Tina Glory Jordan and Jodie Fishinghawk

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Garvin moved to adjourn. Councilor Cowan Watts seconded the motion. The motion carried at $5:00~\rm p.m.$

STAFF PRESENT:

Todd Hembree Lisa Long Courtney Roark Thompson

VISITORS PRESENT:

Farrell Prater Ollie Starr Dianne Barker Harrold