

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final RULES COMMITTEE

Joe Byrd, Chair

E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org				
Thursday, May 28, 2015 		4:00 PM	Tribal Council Offices	
		Special Session		
CALL TO O	RDER			
	Chair Byrd ca	lled the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.		
INVOCATIO	DN			
	Chairman Byı	d gave the invocation.		
ROLL CALL				
	Fu Ja	ara Cowan Watts; Jodie Fishinghawk; Ti Illbright; Dick Lay; Lee Keener Jr.; David ck D. Baker; Harley Buzzard; Joe Byrd; nees Taylor; David Thornton, Sr. and Vi	d Walkingstick; Julia Coates; Don Garvin; Frankie Hargis;	
La	te Arrival 1 - Cເ	urtis Snell		
NEW BUSIN	IESS			
1. <u>15-054</u>	KNOWN AS T	/E ACT RELATING TO AND APPROVIN HE "HUNTING AND FISHING COMPAC" NATION AND THE STATE OF OKLAHON	T BETWEEN THE	
		zquez moved to approve the revised ver ded the motion. Attornev General Hemb	-	

Councilor Vazquez moved to approve the revised version provided. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. Attorney General Hembree gave an overview of the compact and acknowledged those key to the development of the compact. Attorney Ralph Keen provided history of our treaty rights. Assistant Attorney General Sara Hill provided an outline of the details of the agreement within the compact. She stated the compact is for three years starting January 1, 2016. Councilor Glory Jordan requested an overview of our history in compacting. Chair Byrd each Councilor time to speak by asking questions and/or voicing their concerns. Following all comments Councilors Hargis, Glory Jordan, Fishinghawk, Fullbright, Snell, Thornton, Walkingstick, Lay, Taylor, Byrd and Vazquez requested to be added as sponsors. The motion to approve carried with the following roll call vote:

- Yea: 11 Jodie Fishinghawk; Tina Glory Jordan; Janelle Fullbright; Dick Lay; David Walkingstick; Joe Byrd; Frankie Hargis ; Curtis Snell; Janees Taylor; David Thornton, Sr. and Victoria Vazquez
- Nay: 6 Cara Cowan Watts; Lee Keener Jr.; Julia Coates; Jack D. Baker; Harley Buzzard and Don Garvin

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Speaker Glory Jordan requested a ten minute break prior to the start of the Special Council meeting being held here.

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Hargis moved to adjourn. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. The motion carried at 5:49 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Dr. Roger Montgomery	Darryl Legg	David Cornsilk
Scott Craig	Chad Hershaw	John Young
Todd Hembree	Sara Hill	Canaan Duncan
Lacey Horn	Sharon Swepston	Diane Kelley
Chuck Hoskin Jr.	Travis Snell	Robert Garcia
Shannon Buhl	Marshal Lamb	Linda O'Leary
Jody Reece	Sheila Bird	David Moore
Bill John Baker	Barbara Foreman	Claud Stover
John Paden		

VISITORS PRESENT:

Ryan Hembree	Cheryl Brown	Jim Cosby
Larry Horn	Ralph Keen	Bev Cowan
Natalie Fullbright	Teddye Snell	Charlie Soap
Kathy Kilpatrick	Dianne Barker Harrold	