

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Tribal Council Minutes - Final TRIBAL COUNCIL

Tina Glory-Jordan, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Thursday, May 28, 2015

5:00 PM

Tribal Council Offices

Special Session called by Principal Chief Bill John Baker

CALL TO ORDER

Tina Glory-Jordan Speaker of the Council

Speaker Glory Jordan called the meeting to order at 6L00 p.m. pursuant to Article 6 Section 5 and Article 7 Section 7 of the Constitution. She apologized for the late start of this special meeting. She stated this meeting is taking place in the same location of the committee where these items discussed.

INVOCATION

Councilor Byrd gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain

Legal & Legislative Coordinator

Present 15 - Lee Keener Jr.; Dick Lay; Jodie Fishinghawk; Janelle Fullbright; Cara

Cowan Watts; Tina Glory Jordan; Joe Byrd; David Thornton, Sr.; Frankie Hargis; Don Garvin; Curtis Snell; Janees Taylor; Harley

Buzzard; Jack D. Baker and Victoria Vazquez

Absent 2 - David Walkingstick and Julia Coates

NEW BUSINESS

<u>15-054</u>

A LEGISLATIVE ACT RELATING TO AND APPROVING A COMPACT TO BE KNOWN AS THE "HUNTING AND FISHING COMPACT BETWEEN THE CHEROKEE NATION AND THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA"

Councilor Vazquez moved to approve. Councilor Hargis seconded the motion. Speaker Glory Jordan stated lengthy discussion was just held on this item in committee and requested those comments stand.

Councilor Hargis called for the question. Councilor Snell seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following roll call vote:

Yea: 10 - Dick Lay; Jodie Fishinghawk; Janelle Fullbright; Tina Glory Jordan; Joe Byrd; David Thornton, Sr.; Frankie Hargis; Curtis Snell; Janees Taylor and Victoria Vazquez

Nay: 5 - Lee Keener Jr.;Cara Cowan Watts;Don Garvin;Harley Buzzard and Jack D. Baker

The motion to approve the Legislative Act carried with the following roll call vote:

Yea: 10 - Dick Lay; Jodie Fishinghawk; Janelle Fullbright; Tina Glory Jordan; Joe Byrd; David Thornton, Sr.; Frankie Hargis; Curtis Snell; Janees Taylor and Victoria Vazquez

Nay: 5 - Lee Keener Jr.;Cara Cowan Watts;Don Garvin;Harley Buzzard and Jack D. Baker

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Hargis moved to adjourn. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. The motion carried at $6:06\ p.m.$

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Monday, June 15th at 6:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.