

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final

HEALTH COMMITTEE

Frankie Hargis, Chair

	Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org	
Monday, April 11, 2016	1:00 PM	Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Hargis called the meeting to order at 1:01 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Warner gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 12 - Janees Taylor; Harley Buzzard; Frankie Hargis; Don Garvin; Joe Byrd;	
	Curtis Snell; Victoria Vazquez; Rex Jordan; Shawn Crittenden; Buel
	Anglen; Bryan Warner and Keith Austin

- Absent 2 David Thornton, Sr. and David Walkingstick
- Late Arrival 3 Jack D. Baker; Wanda Hatfield and Dick Lay

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Vazquez moved to approve the March 14th regular session minutes. Councilor Snell seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

1. Claremore Service Unit - George Valliere

No one was present to report.

2. Cherokee Nation Health Services - Connie Davis

Ms. Davis gave the highlights from the report provided. She provided a draft working document regarding contract health patients and payments. Both Ms. Davis and Mr. Bret Hayes answered questions regarding Contract Health. Councilor Buzzard commented on the open house recently held at the Sam Hider clinic in Jay. Chair Hargis inquired about the intercom system not working at Wilma P. Mankiller Clinic. Councilor Warner gave appreciation for the recent recruitment efforts.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

1. <u>16-050</u> A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING LEGAL AID SERVICES OF OKLAHOMA, INC., TO PURSUE AMERICORPS FUNDING ON BEHALF OF CHEROKEE NATION TO DEVELOP A MEDICAL-LEGAL PARTNERSHIP WITH CHEROKEE NATION

> Councilor Vazquez moved to approve. Councilor Snell seconded the motion. Ms. Tanya Johnson from Grant Services gave an overview of purpose for this resolution. Chair Hargis requested notice of grants of this sort sooner. After several questions and clarifications the motion to approve and forward to Council this evening carried with Councilor Lay abstaining.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Jordan moved to adjourn. Councilor Baker seconded the motion. The motion carried at 1:47 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Stephanie WIckliffe Dr. Charles Grim Claud Stover Dr. Roger Montgomery Chuck Hoskin Jr. Canaan Duncan Brian Hail John Paden Elizabeth Odell Connie Davis Lacey Horn Bret Hayes Chief Bill John Baker

VISITORS PRESENT:

Mitchell Hicks Dianne Barker Harrold Teddye Snell

Tanya Johnson