

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final CULTURE COMMITTEE

Victoria Vazquez, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Thursday, September 28, 2017

11:00 AM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Vazquez called the meeting to order at 11:02 a.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Warner gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 15 - Buel Anglen; Shawn Crittenden; Wanda Hatfield; Rex Jordan; Dick Lay; Frankie Hargis; Bryan Warner; Joe Byrd; Victoria Vazquez; Janees Taylor; Harley Buzzard; Mike Dobbins; Mike Shambaugh; Mary Baker Shaw and E. O. "JR." Smith

Late Arrival 1 - Keith Austin

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Hargis made a motion to approve as submited. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The mtoion to approve the July 31st regular session minutes carried.

REPORTS:

Chair Vazquez requested the written reports stand.

Cultural Tourism - Molly Jarvis

Chair Vazquez requested to waive questions from Ms. Jarvis as she would be presenting later on the agenda.

Cherokee Nation Language Program - Roy Boney / John Ross

Councilor Byrd inquired if they have plans to relocate offices. Councilor Crittenden suggested have the Cherokee Speakers recognized similar to how the Veterans are recognized. Councilor Hatfield inquired about the number of speakers work with the programs to teach the language. Councilor Warner commented on the state of

emergency with our language. Councilor Baker Shaw inquired about our language program working with the JOM programs.

Community & Cultural Outreach - Rob Daugherty

Mr. Daugherty announced on the recently held At Large meeting held in Texas. He stated they joined efforts with other At Large community groups, employees and Council members and held a drive to provide much needed supplies to the Houston group to assist in their hurricane relief efforts. Councilor Shambaugh inquired if they considered going to different locations with the language program.

Historical Society - Charles Gourd

Dr. Gourd handed out a copy of his report along with the newest addition of the Moravian books. He provided an update of the visitors at the Heritage Center. They are working on a partnership with the Crystal Bridges Museum in Arkansas. They are working on forming the first Genealogy conference. Councilor Byrd inquired about State funding the Heritage Center receives annually.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

1. TMP-359

DISCUSSION ONLY - THE CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES PROGRAM AND THE CHEROKEE ART MARKET RULES & PROCEDURES

PRESENTED BY: MOLLY JARVIS

Councilor Hargis made a motion to enter into discussion. Councilor Shambaugh seconded the motion. Chair Vazquez opened with a statement of how the meeting would be conducted. Ms. Molly Jarvis began with background information on the Cherokee Art Market and the Cherokee Nation National Treasurers Program. Each Council member was provided the opportunity to ask questions. Following questions regarding the presentation and concerns of how the meeting was being conducted Councilor Crittenden requested to yield his remaining time to allow National Treasurer Betty Frogg to speak. During discussion of this request some of the members of the audience became disruptive. Attorney General Hembree stated there are terms under the Constitution and the Council Rules of Procedure that allows for executive session when a matter of public decorum arises. He suggested everyone refrain from having outbursts.

A motion was made by Member Frankie Hargis , seconded by Member Mike Shambaugh, that this matter be Presented . The motion carried unaimously by Voice Vote

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Councilor Baker Shaw made a motion to enter executive session based on public decorum. Councilor Shambaugh seconded the motion. Executive session was entered at 12:17 p.m.

They exited executive session at 1:14 p.m. with Speaker Byrd stating no votes

were taken.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Hargis moved to adjourn. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried at 1:18 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Rob Daugherty	Tammy Dry	Todd Hembree
Roy Boney	John Ross	Canaan Duncan
Howard Paden	Chuck Hoskin Jr.	Kelly Forrest
Dawnea Squirrel	Rvan Mackev	

VISITORS PRESENT:

Charles Gourd	Cheryl Trask	Molly Jarvis
Matt Anderson	Durbin Feeling	Jodie Fishinghawk
Jane Osti	Jim Cosby	Shawna Cain
Roger Cain	Teddye Snell	Tahlina Nofire Blakestad
David Comingdeer	Vivian Cottrell	Eddie Morrison
Betty Frogg		