

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final RULES COMMITTEE

Joe Byrd, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Monday, December 11, 2017

11:00 AM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Byrd called the meeting to order at 11:10 a.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Taylor gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 15 - Keith Austin; Buel Anglen; Dick Lay; Shawn Crittenden; Wanda Hatfield; Rex Jordan; Joe Byrd; Janees Taylor; Victoria Vazquez; Frankie Hargis; Harley Buzzard; E. O. "JR." Smith; Mike Shambaugh; Mike Dobbins and Mary Baker Shaw

Late Arrival 2 - David Walkingstick and Bryan Warner

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Hargis moved to approve the November 14th regular session minutes as submitted. Councilor Jordan seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

Marshal Service - Shannon Buhl

No one was present to report.

Office of the Attorney General - Chrissi Nimmo

Ms. Nimmo offered to answer questions.

Tax Commission - Sharon Swepston

Ms. Swepston offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Warner inquired about the staff at the Sallisaw office.

FOIA-GRA - Gwen Terrapin

Ms. Terrapin provided an update on the statuses of the GRA, FOIA and website. She offered to answer questions from the report.

Self-Governance - Karen Ketcher

Ms. Ketcher offered to answer questions from the report provided. She announced they have received an approved forest management plan.

Gaming Commission - Jamie Hummingbird

Ms. Tracy Asher offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Baker Shaw inquired as to which casino wasn't up to par in regard to the NIGC.

Human Resources - Nason Morton

Mr. Morton offered to answer questions from the report provided.

OLD BUSINESS

1. 17-126 ACT RELATING TO AMENDMENT OF TITLE 18 ARTICLE 3 SECTION 18 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION GENERAL CORPORATION ACT, INCREASING THE DIVIDENDS, PROVIDING FOR SEVERABILITY AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

Councilor Lay made a motion to move this item to be considered with new business #3. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS

1. 17-133 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF EDWARD H. FITE III AS A COMMISSIONER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION COMMISSION

Councilor Jordan made a motion to approve. Councilor Hargis seconded the motion. The motion carried. Mr. Fite was present for questions.

2. 17-134 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF LYNNA CARSON AS A COMMISSIONER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION COMMISSION

Councilor Hargis made a motion to approve. Councilor Crittenden seconded the motion. The motion carried. Ms. Carson was present for questions.

3a. 17-126 ACT RELATING TO AMENDMENT OF TITLE 18 ARTICLE 3 SECTION 18 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION GENERAL CORPORATION ACT, INCREASING THE DIVIDENDS, PROVIDING FOR SEVERABILITY AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

Councilor Lay made a motion to approve with amendments. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. Councilor Lay read into the record the proposed amendments. The motion to approve as amended carried with a request to forward to council this evening.

3b. 17-135 A LEGISLATIVE ACT AMENDING TITLE 62 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE AND ESTABLISHING THE CHEROKEE NATION SOVEREIGN WEALTH FUND

Councilor Lay made a motion to approve. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried with a request to forward to council this evening.

4. 17-138 ACT RELATING TO APPEAL A FEDERAL DISTRICT COURT DECISION IMPACTING
THE SOVEREIGNTY OF THE CHEROKEE NATION AND THE 566 OTHER TRIBES
ACROSS THE UNITED STATES AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

Councilor Walkingstick moved to allow discussion only. Councilor Buzzard seconded the motion. Councilor Vazquez made a motion to table indefinitely. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. Following some discussion and clarification the motion to table indefinitely carried with the following roll call vote:

Yea: 10 - Keith Austin; Wanda Hatfield; Rex Jordan; Bryan Warner; Joe Byrd; Janees Taylor; Victoria Vazquez; E. O. "JR." Smith; Mike Shambaugh and Mike Dobbins

Nay: 7 - Buel Anglen; Dick Lay; David Walkingstick; Shawn Crittenden; Frankie Hargis; Harley Buzzard and Mary Baker Shaw

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Vazquez moved to adjourn. Councilor Jordan seconded the motion. The motion carried at 11:32 a.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Chuck Hoskin Jr.Canaan DuncanJamie ColeLacey HornChrissi NimmoSharon SwepstonGwen TerrapinBill John BakerJoe CrittendenNason MortonKaren KetcherEthan HolcombChad HarshaTracy Asher

VISITORS PRESENT:

Lynna Carson Ed Fite Teddye Snell Tahlina Nofire Blakestad