

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final EDUCATION COMMITTEE

David Walkingstick, Chair

| | Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org | |
|-------------------------------------|---|------------------------|
| - Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - | 3:00 PM | Tribal Council Offices |

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Walkingstick called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

INVOCATION

Mr. Ron Etheridge, the Executive Director of Education, gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 15 - Rex Jordan; Wanda Hatfield; Shawn Crittenden; Buel Anglen; Bryan Warner; Dick Lay; David Walkingstick; Joe Byrd; Mike Dobbins; Frankie Hargis; Mike Shambaugh; Mary Baker Shaw; E. O. "JR." Smith; Janees Taylor and Victoria Vazquez

- Absent 1 Harley Buzzard
- Late Arrival 1 Keith Austin

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Hargis moved to approve the December 11, 2017 regular session minutes. Councilor Jordan seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

Vocational Programs/Talking Leaves Job Corp/Career Services - Diane Kelley

Ms. Kelley gave an update on the apprenticeship programs. She touched on the Job Corp recruitment drive. She reported on the businesses they are currently working with in Sequoyah County and Owasso. She offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Hargis inquired about commuters within the Job Corp. She also inquired about the capacity at Job Corp and the number of open slots.

Head Start - Verna Thompson

Mr. Etheridge offered to answer questions for Ms. Thompson.

Executive Director's Report - Ron Etheridge

Mr. Etheridge reported Dr. Gloria Sly has retired after twenty-eight years of service. The Remember the Removal Riders will meet this evening. He passed around a list of students throughout the jurisdictional area who have received a JOM award. He provided an update on his recent trip to the Inter-Tribal Conference. Chair Walkingstick inquired about impact aide funding for the immersion school. He requested clarification for the deadline of the fall scholarship. Councilor Warner inquired about the policy for students on the scholarship program who drop below full time. He also requested clarification on the robotics events. Councilor Crittenden inquired about assisting those who missed the scholarship deadline. Chair Walkingstick inquired about the professional development participation in the schools. Councilor Byrd suggested they reach out to and recognize the creator of the Remember the Removal Bike Ride, Dr. Mike Morris. Chair Walkingstick inquired about the Language Master Apprenticeship program.

Sequoyah High School - Leroy Qualls

Mr. Qualls reported they are working to develop an Immersion School web page. He touched on the children's involvement in the "Let's Talk Cherokee" segment in the Osiyo Voices of the Cherokee People series. He provided high school enrollment numbers. The Sophomores are scheduled to tour the ICTC program. He touched on some of the athletic accomplishments. Mr. Qualls provided information on some of the upcoming school events.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

TMP-363 CONCURRENT ENROLLMENT WORK GROUP UPDATE

Chair Walkingstick gave an update from the work group. Councilor Warner gave an overview of the amendment submitted for consideration at Rules Committee in regard to the concurrent enrollment. Councilor Taylor inquired about a funding cap per semester. Councilor Warner requested the Education department contact the concurrent schools and get a funding cost per semester for three to six hours.

Chair Walkingstick commented they will start the Cherokee Promise work group with the first meeting being held at 5:00 p.m. today. He inquired about interest to participate. Councilors Walkingstick, Crittenden, Lay, Warner, and Baker Shaw requested to participate in the work group.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Warner moved to adjourn. Councilor Hargis seconded the motion. The motion carried at 3:59 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Canaan Duncan Ron Etheridge Shay Smith Alayna Farris Chrissi Nimmo Leroy Qualls Jennifer Pigeon Diane Kelley

VISITORS PRESENT:

Janice Randall

Tahlina Nofire Blakestad