

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final EDUCATION COMMITTEE

David Walkingstick, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Monday, August 13, 2018

3:00 PM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Walkingstick called the meeting to order at 3:22 p.m.

INVOCATION

Chair Walkingstick gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 16 - Rex Jordan; Wanda Hatfield; Shawn Crittenden; Buel Anglen; Bryan Warner; Dick Lay; David Walkingstick; Keith Austin; Harley Buzzard; Joe Byrd; Mike Dobbins; Frankie Hargis; Mike Shambaugh; Mary Baker

Shaw; E. O. "JR." Smith and Janees Taylor

Absent 1 - Victoria Vazquez

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Jordan moved to approve the July 9th regular session minutes. Councilor Shaw seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

Vocational Programs/Talking Leaves Job Corp/Career Services - Diane Kelley

Ms. Stephanie Isaacs reported they are working on the mandates handed down by DOL at the Job Corp. The GED Graduation ceremony is September 20th at the Northeastern UC Ballroom. She offered to take questions back to Ms. Kelley.

Executive Director's Report - Ron Etheridge

Mr. Etheridge introduced Chrissy Marsh as the new College Resource Manager. He brought with him Mr. Roy Boney and Mr. Wade Blevins to report on the Ignite Workshop as requested by Chair Walkingstick. Mr. Boney and Mr. Blevins gave an overview and background of the Ignite Conference. Councilor Byrd commented on the Resolution recently passed for the Eastern Band, the UKB and the Cherokee Nation doing a census to determine the number of speakers we have now. Chair

Walkingstick inquired if the Immersion staff could attend the conference and if there is a cost. He also inquired about assisting teachers with the cost who want to attend. Councilor Crittenden inquired about the Native American Youth Grant and the ACT score required for concurrent enrollment. Mr. Etheridge reported the changes in the concurrent enrollment policy weren't properly communicated therefore the deadline has been extended to this Friday. He gave statistics on the undergraduate and graduate scholarships from 2012 to now as well as the concurrent enrollment statistics. Chair Walkingstick inquired about the dropout rate for the Cherokee Undergraduate Scholarship. Mr. Etheridge reported on our archery facility. Councilor Anglen inquired about a policy not allowing our youth to be a council member and in the choir at the same time. Councilor Hatfield inquired about the At Large serving on the Youth Council. Mr. Etheridge announced the college fair in Tahlequah will be on October 23rd and the northern date is to be determined. Councilor Lay inquired about each district being represented by the Youth Council.

Head Start - Verna Thompson

Ms. Thompson reported the federal audit review is scheduled for September 10th through the 14th. Data was provided showing the children's progress. Ms. Sandra Turner gave an overview of the teaching strategies. Ms. Barbara Littledave reported on their staff recruiting. Councilor Hatfield inquired about the Head Start teaching requirements.

Sequoyah High School - Leroy Qualls

Mr. Qualls reported the school year is off to a smooth start. The freshmen are in BIE testing. He was part of a BIE teleconference where each school will be responsible for a strategic plan with emphasis on college and career readiness, social and emotional health, and school safety. He provided updated dorm counts. Mr. Qualls reported on the open houses and staff counts. Highlights were given on the softball team and the upcoming football scrimmage. The ISEP Transportation Audit is September 20th. Coach Larry Callison was elected into the Coaches Hall of Fame. Coach Herrin coached the boys All State Game. Mr. Etheridge was elected into the Hall of Fame. Mr. Marcus Crittenden received a National Certification as an Athletic Administrator.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

None pending.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Warner moved to adjourn. Councilor Jordan seconded the motion. The motion carried at 4:21 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Leroy Qualls Stephanie Issacs Courtney Jordan Verna Thompson Mark Vance Roy Boney Ron Etheridge Chrissi Nimmo Chrissy Marsh Wade Blevins Chuck Hoskin Jr. Canaan Duncan Marsha Lamb Jennifer Pigeon Nikki Limore Barbara Littledave Sandra Turner

VISITORS PRESENT:

Teddye Snell Tahlina Nofire Blakestad