

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Tribal Council Minutes - Final TRIBAL COUNCIL

Joe Byrd, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Thursday, September 27, 2018

4:00 PM

Council Chambers

Special Session called by Principal Chief Bill John Baker

CALL TO ORDER

Joe Byrd

Speaker of the Council

Speaker Byrd called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Buzzard gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain

Legal & Legislative Coordinator

Present 15 - Buel Anglen; Rex Jordan; David Walkingstick; Dick Lay; Bryan Warner;

Keith Austin; Mike Shambaugh; Mike Dobbins; Mary Baker Shaw; E. O. "JR." Smith; Janees Taylor; Joe Byrd; Victoria Vazquez; Frankie Hargis

and Harley Buzzard

Absent 2 - Shawn Crittenden and Wanda Hatfield

NEW BUSINESS

18-069 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF LEE W. PADEN AS JUSTICE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION SUPREME COURT

Sponsors: Victoria Vazquez, Keith Austin, Wanda Hatfield, Bryan Warner, E. O.

"JR." Smith, Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan and Mike Dobbins

Councilor Hargis moved to approve. Councilor Jordan seconded the motion. The motion carried with Councilor Lay opposed. Justice Paden was sworn in by Chief Justice Garrett.

Enactment No: R-045-18

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Walkingstick moved to adjourn. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried at 4:04 p.m.

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on October 15th at 6:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.