

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Tribal Council Minutes - Final TRIBAL COUNCIL

Joe Byrd, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Monday, November 26, 2018

6:00 PM

Council Chambers

Special Session Called by Principal Chief Bill John Baker

CALL TO ORDER

Joe Byrd Speaker of the Council

Speaker Byrd called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Dobbins gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain

Legal & Legislative Coordinator

Present 16 - Buel Anglen; Rex Jordan; David Walkingstick; Dick Lay; Bryan Warner; Shawn Crittenden; Keith Austin; Wanda Hatfield; Mike Shambaugh; Mike Dobbins; Mary Baker Shaw; E. O. "JR." Smith; Janees Taylor; Joe Byrd; Victoria Vazquez and Harley Buzzard

See the attached Special Meeting of the Council notice posted by Principal Cheif Bill John Baker

18-078

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF FRANKIE HARGIS AS REGISTRAR FOR THE CHEROKEE NATION REGISTRATION COMMITTEE

Sponsors: Rex Jordan, Keith Austin and Victoria Vazquez

Councilor Vazquez made a motion to approve. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried with no opposition.

Chief Justice John C. Garrett performed the swearing in of the newly approved Registar Frankie Hargis.

Enactment No: R-50-18

18-079

A RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE DATE OF THE SPECIAL ELECTION TO FILL A VACANCY FOR TRIBAL COUNCIL MEMBER FOR DISTRICT 7 OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Joe Byrd

Councilor Austin moved to approve the substitute resolution and timeline. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. Discussion was held regarding the timeline proposed, the absentee ballot process in regard to the number sent to one address, when a request can be submitted, how many a notary can notarize, the retroactive date to accept absentee requests, the open meetings act, Councilors being called by a Commissioner, the 90 timeline, not the same advantage for all candidates, and the cost of a special election.

Following lengthy debate the motion to approve carried with the following roll call vote:

Yea: 9 - Rex Jordan;Bryan Warner ;Keith Austin;Wanda Hatfield;Mike Dobbins;E. O. "JR." Smith;Janees Taylor;Joe Byrd and Victoria Vazquez

Nay: 7 - Buel Anglen;David Walkingstick;Dick Lay;Shawn Crittenden;Mike Shambaugh;Mary Baker Shaw and Harley Buzzard

Enactment No: R-51-18

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Vazquez moved to adjourn. Councilor Shambaugh seconded the motion. The motion carried at 6:57 p.m.

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Monday, December 17th at 6:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.