

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final RULES COMMITTEE

Joe Byrd, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Thursday, January 31, 2019

1:00 PM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Byrd called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Crittenden gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 16 - Keith Austin; Buel Anglen; Dick Lay; David Walkingstick; Shawn Crittenden; Wanda Hatfield; Rex Jordan; Bryan Warner; Joe Byrd; Janees Taylor; Victoria Vazquez; E. O. "JR." Smith; Mike Shambaugh; Mike Dobbins; Mary Baker Shaw and Canaan Duncan

Absent 1 - Harley Buzzard

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Taylor moved to approve the December 17th regular session minutes. Councilor Jordan seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

Marshal Service - Shannon Buhl

Danny Tanner offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Duncan gave appreciation to a Marshal who assisted in a situation off duty. Chair Byrd inquired if they had been contacted in regard to the Museum in Ft. Smith. Councilor Walkingstick inquired about payment of hotel rooms for the tornado victims through emergency management.

Office of the Attorney General - Chrissi Nimmo

John Young reported for the Attorney General's office. He reported the Supreme Court requested additional briefing in the Murphy vs. Carpenter case. Councilor Crittenden inquired about the number of attorneys in the AG's office.

FOIA-GRA - Gwen Terrapin

Ms. Terrapin was unable to attend.

Election Commission - Marcus Fears

Mr. Fears gave appreciation for everyone involved in the District 7 Special election. He gave highlights from the report along with important dates for the upcoming general election. Councilor Crittenden inquired why someone would receive an absentee ballot that they hadn't requested. He also inquired about a voter registration and absentee ballot form both being presented at the same time. Councilor Crittenden requested clarification on the absentee ballot process and if the absentee or a challenged ballot are counted. Ms. Connie Parnell gave an overview of how the Election Commission office handles absentee ballots from beginning to end. Councilor Lay inquired about mathematical uncertainty. He also inquired if the absentee ballots are tabulated prior to the election. Councilor Walkingstick inquired if a report of early voters is available. He asked if the date an absentee ballot requests is filled out matters when turned into their office. Councilor Dobbins inquired if there is a red flag or issue if a large number of absentee requests are sent to one address. Mr. Chaffin stated they have a very detailed written absentee ballot process that could be provided to the Council.

Tax Commission - Sharon Swepston

Ms. Swepston offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Walkingstick inquired about the amount for schools from car tags. Councilor Hatfield inquired where the At Large tags funds go. Councilor Shaw inquired about the discount to At Large citizens to get a tag.

Self-Governance - Karen Ketcher

Ms. Ketcher offered to answer questions from the report. Councilor Taylor requested clarification on the Housing Improvement Program referred to in the report.

Gaming Commission - Jamie Hummingbird

Mr. Hummingbird reported their board meeting will be held in Catoosa at the golf course on Friday. He reported on updates at the Tahlequah facility. The FY2018 audits have been filed. He announced at the current pace by April the tribal impact on gaming to mark \$1.5 billion for the State over the term of the compact.

Human Resources - Nason Morton

Mr. Morton offered to answer questions from the report provided.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

1.	<u>19-001</u>	_	LUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF FANNIE E. ROBINSON		
			MMISSIONER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION TAX COMMISSION		
		the moti	or Duncan made a motion to approve. Councilor Vazquez seconded on. The motion carried. Councilors Crittenden, Vazquez, Warner, stick and Duncan requested to be added as sponsors.		
2.	<u>19-002</u>	_	LUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF DR. STEPHEN JONES AS A MEMBER OF CHEROKEE NATION HEALTH PARTNERS		
			r Shaw made a motion to approve. Councilor Warner seconded the The motion carried. Councilor Vazquez requested to be added as a		
3.	<u>19-003</u>	_	LUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF SHAUN SHEPHERD AS D MEMBER OF CHEROKEE NATION BUSINESSES, LLC		
		The mot	r Taylor moved to approve. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. on carried with Councilor Crittenden abstaining. Councilors tick, Vazquez and Smith requested to be added as sponsors.		
4.	<u>19-004</u>	BOARD	LUTION CONFIRMING THE RENOMINATION OF JOHNNIE EARP AS A MEMBER OF THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TRUST AUTHORITY OF DIRECTORS		
			r Anglen moved to approve. Councilor Warner seconded the motion. on carried. Councilors Warner and Anglen requested to be added as s.		
5.	<u>19-005</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF MARTY D. A COMMISSIONER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ENVIRONMENTAL F			
		Councilor Jordan moved to approve. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. The motion carried. Councilor Smith requested to be added as a sponsor.			
6.	<u>19-009</u>		SION ONLY - AN ACT AMENDING LA-12-16 TITLE 26 "ELECTIONS" OF THE EEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED		
		Councilor Walkingstick gave an overview for the proposed amendments and stated they wouldn't go into effect if passed until after the 2019 election.			
			Councilor Taylor made a motion to table indefinitely. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following roll call vote:		
		Yea : 9	- Keith Austin; Wanda Hatfield; Rex Jordan; Bryan Warner ; Joe Byrd; Janees Taylor; Victoria Vazquez; E. O. "JR." Smith and Canaan Duncan		
		Nay: 5	Buel Anglen; Dick Lay; David Walkingstick; Shawn Crittenden and Mary Baker Shaw		
	Α	bstain: 1	- Mike Dobbins		
	Not In	Room: 1	- Mike Shambaugh		

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Duncan moved to adjourn. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. The motion to adjourn carried at 2:31 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

John Young	Anna Knight	Sharon Swepston
Steve Jones	Nason Morton	Connie Parnell
Marcus Fears	Bill John Baker	Jamie Hummingbird
Todd Hembree	Danny Tanner	Taryn King
Ethan Green	Taylor Edwards	Chuck Hoskin Jr.
Brandon Scott	Karen Ketcher	Stephen Highers
Londa Cox	Joe Crittenden	

VISITORS PRESENT:

Tahlina Nofire Blakestad	Teddye Snell	Johnnie Earp
Rick Doherty	Harvey Chaffin	Fan Robinson
Shaun Shepherd	Shawn Slaton	