

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Tribal Council Minutes - Final TRIBAL COUNCIL

Joe Byrd, Speaker

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465 E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Thursday, August 29, 2019

4:00 PM

Council Chambers

Special Session called by Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin, Jr.

CALL TO ORDER

Joe Byrd

Speaker of the Council

Speaker Byrd called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

INVOCATION

Speaker Byrd gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Shelli Brittain Coke

Legal & Legislative Coordinator

Present 17 - Mike Shambaugh; Mike Dobbins; Mary Baker Shaw; E. O. "JR." Smith; Janees Taylor; Joe Byrd; Victoria Vazquez; Harley Buzzard; Canaan Duncan; Rex Jordan; Wes Nofire; Daryl Legg; Shawn Crittenden; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere; Keith Austin and Julia Coates

NEW BUSINESS

Honored to address the Council at this special meeting Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin, Jr., gave appreciation for the consideration of his nominees and other business items on the agenda.

1. 19-065 THE HOUSING, JOBS, AND SUSTAINABLE COMMUNITIES ACT OF 2019

Sponsors: Canaan Duncan, Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Shawn Crittenden,

Keith Austin, Joe Deere, Joe Byrd, Daryl Legg, Victoria Vazquez, Wes

Nofire, Mike Dobbins, E. O. "JR." Smith, Harley Buzzard, Dora Patzkowski, Janees Taylor, Julia Coates and Mary Baker Shaw

Councilor Jordan moved to approve. Councilor Duncan seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Enactment No: LA-12-19

2. 19-063 AN ACT ESTABLISHING A SECRETARY OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

Sponsors: Canaan Duncan, Daryl Legg, Janees Taylor, Dora Patzkowski, Keith

Austin, Joe Deere, Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan and Victoria

Vazquez

Councilor Jordan moved to approve. Councilor Duncan seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Enactment No: LA-13-19

3. 19-060 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF TINA GLORY JORDAN AS SECRETARY OF STATE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Joe Byrd, E. O. "JR." Smith, Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, Keith

Austin, Mike Shambaugh, Canaan Duncan, Dora Patzkowski, Mike

Dobbins, Joe Deere and Daryl Legg

Councilor Shambaugh moved to approve. Councilor Duncan seconded the motion. The motion carried with Councilor Jordan abstaining.

Enactment No: R-037-19

4. 19-055 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF SARA E. HILL AS ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Keith Austin, Janees Taylor, Rex Jordan, Victoria Vazquez, Daryl

Legg, Dora Patzkowski, Joe Deere, Canaan Duncan, Mike

Shambaugh, Joe Byrd, Julia Coates, Mike Dobbins and Mary Baker

Shaw

Councilor Vazquez moved to approve. Councilor Duncan seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Enactment No: R-038-19

5. 19-061 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF TRALYNNA L. SCOTT AS TREASURER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, Canaan Duncan, Daryl Legg, Keith

Austin, Dora Patzkowski, Joe Deere, Mike Shambaugh and Rex Jordan

Councilor Duncan moved to approve. Councilor Shambaugh seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Enactment No: R-039-19

6. 19-054 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF CHAD C. HARSHA AS SECRETARY OF NATURAL RESOURCES OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Rex Jordan, Mike Shambaugh, Mike Dobbins, Keith Austin, Daryl

Legg, Canaan Duncan, Dora Patzkowski, Joe Deere, Victoria Vazquez

and E. O. "JR." Smith

 $\label{lem:councilor-decomposition} \textbf{Councilor Jordan seconded the motion}.$

The motion carried.

Enactment No: R-040-19

7. 19-059 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF FRANKIE HARGIS AS REGISTRAR OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Keith Austin, Victoria Vazquez, Rex Jordan, Mike Shambaugh, Daryl

Legg, Joe Deere, Wes Nofire, Canaan Duncan, E. O. "JR." Smith, Joe

Byrd, Julia Coates and Janees Taylor

Councilor Vazquez moved to approve. Councilor Nofire seconded the motion.

The motion carried.

Enactment No: R-041-19

8. 19-064 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF STANLEY JOE CRITTENDEN AS SECRETARY OF VETERANS AFFAIRS OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Canaan Duncan, Janees Taylor, Daryl Legg, Keith Austin, Dora

Patzkowski, Joe Deere, Mike Shambaugh, Rex Jordan, Victoria Vazquez, Harley Buzzard, Mike Dobbins and Mary Baker Shaw

Councilor Buzzard moved to approve. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Enactment No: R-042-19

9. 19-058 A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF KIMBERLY TEEHEE AS DELEGATE TO THE UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES FOR THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Victoria Vazquez, Janees Taylor, Daryl Legg, Keith Austin, Dora

Patzkowski, Mike Shambaugh, Joe Deere, Rex Jordan, Harley

Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Julia Coates and Mary Baker Shaw

Councilor Taylor moved to approve. Councilor Austin seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Enactment No: R-043-19

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Speaker Byrd commented, to those in the audience, there was much debate held during committee this afternoon. HE requested all of those confirmed today to please stand.

Speaker Byrd requested Deputy Warner invite everyone to the Cherokee Holiday.

SWEARING IN OF THE NEWLY ELECTED CABINET MEMBERS

Justice John C. Garrett performed the swearing in ceremony for The Secretary of State, The Attorney General, The Treasurer, The Secretary of Natural Resources, The Registrar, The Secretary of Veterans Affairs, and the Delegate to the United States House of Representatives.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Councilor Duncan recognized Kim Teehee's family in attendance and announced the recent passing of thier family member.

Speaker Byrd reminded everyone who was sworn in to remain and sign thier oaths.

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Vazquez moved to adjourn. Councilor Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried at $4:15\ p.m.$

Next Tribal Council meeting will be held on Monday, September 16th at 6:00 p.m. at the tribal headquarters, W.W. Keeler Complex.