

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final HEALTH SUB COMMITTEE - PUBLIC HEALTH

Mike Dobbins, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Monday, December 16, 2019

10:00 AM

Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Dobbins called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

INVOCATION

Chair Dobbins gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Present 9 - Mike Dobbins; E. O. "JR." Smith; Janees Taylor; Victoria Vazquez; Canaan Duncan; Daryl Legg; Dora Patzkowski; Rex Jordan and Keith Austin

Late Arrival 5 - Mary Baker Shaw; Harley Buzzard; Joe Deere; Shawn Crittenden and Wes Nofire

REPORTS:

CHEROKEE NATION PUBLIC HEALTH
 Lisa Pivec, MS, Senior Director, Public Health

Ms. Pivec provided handouts of the 2019 Public Health Highlights and a Comprehensive Cancer Prevention and Control Plan and gave an overview of both. Dr. Gahn gave an overview of the handout given in regard to the physical activity survey assessment. The Lynn Institute will be performing surveys in Delaware, Mayes, Sequoyah and Cherokee Counties. Councilor Crittenden gave appreciation for the work and inquired what is the next step. Councilor Smith commented he would like to see the actual report. Chair Dobbins requested clarification on the variables. Following other questions Chair Dobbins inquired if they are where individual Councilors could come to them about the needs of their specific district. Councilor Taylor requested clarification from the report regarding HPV immunization data. Councilor Shaw inquired about the report where it refers to childhood obesity and discussions with the State Representatives and if physical education within the school system is included.

 STATE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION'S HEALTH David Gahn, MD, MPH, Medical Director, Public Health **OLD BUSINESS**

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

None pending.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Legg moved to adjourn. Councilor Shaw seconded the motion. The motion carried at 10:42 a.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

David Gahn Lisa Pivec Ashley Comiford

Jamie Cole Todd Enlow Taralee Montgomery

Tina Glory Jordan

VISITORS PRESENT:

Tim Brown Teddye Snell