

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final RULES COMMITTEE

Joe Byrd, Chair

	Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org	
- Thursday, May 28, 2020	10:00 AM	Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Byrd called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Buzzard gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Councilors Coates, Jordan, Shaw, Taylor and Vazquez attended remotely.

- Present 16 Joe Byrd; Janees Taylor; Victoria Vazquez; Harley Buzzard; E. O. "JR." Smith; Mike Shambaugh; Mike Dobbins; Mary Baker Shaw; Rex Jordan; Wes Nofire; Daryl Legg; Shawn Crittenden; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere; Keith Austin and Julia Coates
- Late Arrival 1 Canaan Duncan

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Dobbins moved to approve the April 27th regular session minutes. Councilor Legg seconded the motion. The motion carried.

OLD BUSINESS

None pending.

NEW BUSINESS

 1.
 20-028
 DISCUSSION ONLY - AN ACT TO ADOPT AN EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT CODE AND AUTHORIZE THE ESTABLISHMENT OF AN OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

Chair Byrd and sponsor introduced the emergency code for discussion only today with possible consideration for next month. Council Attorney, Tim Brown, gave a brief background of the code proposed and commented they are open to input from the Chief and the Marshal Service. Chief Hoskin suggested getting beyond this immediate

crisis and then look at the current statute and follow with more extensive dialog. Chief of Staff, Todd Enlow, commented on the current relationships and partnerships of our emergency management staff has with police, fire, red cross and others.

Following questions and clarification Councilor Nofire made a motion to table. Councilor Deere seconded the motion. The motion carried.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chair Byrd commented for now the next meeting is tentatively scheduled for June 25th.

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Deere moved to adjourn. Councilor Nofire seconded the motion. The motion carried at 10:27 a.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Todd Enlow	
Chuck Hoskin	

Taralee Montgomery Sara Hill Tralynna Scott

Remote: Bryan Warner

Tina Glory Jordan

VISITORS PRESENT:

Tim Brown

Teddye Snell