

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final EXECUTIVE AND FINANCE COMMITTEE

Keith Austin, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke	
Phone: 1-800-995-9465,	
E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org	

Tuesday, September 7, 2021

9:00 AM

Tribal Council Offices

SPECIAL SESSION - FY2022 BUDGET HEARINGS (9/7/2021 - 9/9/2021)

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Austin called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Shotpouch gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Councilor Coates attended remotely.

Present 17 - Rex Jordan; Wes Nofire; Daryl Legg; Shawn Crittenden; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere; Keith Austin; Julia Coates; Johnny Kidwell ; Candessa Tehee; Danny Callison; Joshua Sam; Melvina Shotpouch; Mike Dobbins; E. O. "JR." Smith; Mike Shambaugh and Victoria Vazquez

NEW BUSINESS

21-084 BUDGET HEARINGS - FY2022 CAPITAL AND COMPREHENSIVE OPERATING BUDGETS

Councilor Patzkowski made a motion to approve. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion.

Treasurer Taylor gave a PowerPoint presentation of the FY2022 budget submitted. She offered to answer questions pertaining to the presentation. Following a few questions from the Council the hearings continued with an overview of each individual department followed by questions of those departments.

Chair Austin called for a break at 9:41 a.m.

Chair Austin called the meeting back to order at 9:55 a.m.

The department overviews continued followed by questions from the Council.

Chair Austin called for a break at 11:16 a.m.

Chair Austin called the meeting back to order at 11:26 a.m.

The department overviews continued followed by questions from the Council.

RECESS

Chair Austin recessed for lunch at 11:45 a.m.

RECONVENNE

Chair Austin reconvened the meeting at 1:00 p.m.

21-084 BUDGET HEARINGS - FY2022 CAPITAL AND COMPREHENSIVE OPERATING BUDGETS

The department overviews continued followed by questions from the Council.

Upon completion of the department overviews and all questions were exhausted the motion to approve carried with Councilor Nofire opposing.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Treasurer Taylor and the Council Director Over Financial Oversight Reece gave appreciation to all those involved in the budget process. The Council gave appreciation to both Treasurer Taylor and Mr. Reece for their hard work.

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Vazquez moved to adjourn. Councilor Patzkowski seconded the motion. The motion carried at 1:21 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Janees Taylor	Jamie Cole	Jody Reece
Taralee Montgomery	Todd Enlow	Tina Glory Jordan
Debra Lack	Diane Kelley	Chuck Hoskin Jr.
Chad Harsha	Ashlee Fox	Kevin Stretch
Shannon Buhl	Luke Barteau	Joe Crittenden
Julie Hubbard	Sara Hill	Corey Bunch
Jennifer Pigeon	Steve Jones	Michael Lynn
Ami Sams	David Moore	Anna Knight
Alana Casteel	Ginger Reeves	Camerin Fite James
Tamera Copeland	Derrick Vann	Scott Otten
Suzanne Drywater	Todd Gourd	Sharon Swepston
Connie Parnell	Howard Paden	Christina Carroll
Tyler Thomas		

Remote: Jennifer Kirby

Janice Purcell

VISITORS PRESENT:

Teddye Snell