

# **Council of the Cherokee Nation**

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

# Meeting Minutes - Final EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Shawn Crittenden, Chair

Recording Secretary, Shelli Brittain Coke Phone: 1-800-995-9465, E-mail: council-public@cherokee.org

Monday, January 10, 2022

3:00 PM

**Tribal Council Offices** 

#### CALL TO ORDER

Chair Crittenden called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Shotpouch gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Councilors Coates and Legg attended remotely.

Present 16 - Joe Deere; Julia Coates; Keith Austin; Dora Patzkowski; Daryl Legg; Wes Nofire; Shawn Crittenden; Candessa Tehee; Mike Dobbins; E. O.

"JR." Smith; Joshua Sam; Mike Shambaugh; Melvina Shotpouch;

Victoria Vazquez; Danny Callison and Johnny Kidwell

Late Arrival 1 - Rex Jordan

## APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Deere made a motion to approve the December minutes. Councilor Patzkowski seconded the motion. The motion carried.

### REPORTS:

Vocational Programs/Talking Leaves Job Corp/Career Services - Diane Kelley

Ms. Kelley gave updates on the various training programs and then offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Nofire inquired as to the number of students at Job Corp. He requested clarification on the Job Corp facility lockdown.

Executive Director's Report - Mark Vance

Mr. Vance reported they have been delivering masks to the schools. The Higher Education Scholarship deadline has been extended to the 18th. He offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Deere inquired if certain schools within his district received scholarship information and masks.

Sequoyah High School - Mark Vance

Mr. Vance announced the new Principal is Ramona Ketcher and the new Assistant Principal is Justin Brown. Councilor Austin requested each be brought before committee for a formal introduction at a later date.

Head Start - Verna Thompson

Mr. Vance offered to answer questions for Ms. Thompson.

**OLD BUSINESS** 

None pending.

**NEW BUSINESS** 

None pending.

**ANNOUNCEMENTS** 

**ADJOURNMENT** 

Councilor Patzkowski moved to adjourn. Councilor Dobbins seconded the motion. The motion carried at 3:10 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Remote:

Mark Vance

Taralee Montgomery

Diane Kelley

Corey Bunch

VISITORS PRESENT:

John Young Teddye Snell