

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Complex 17675 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Meeting Minutes - Final

RULES COMMITTEE

Mike Shambaugh, Chair

Thursday, April 28, 2022	1:00 PM	Tribal Council Offices

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Shambaugh called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

INVOCATION

Councilor Shotpouch gave the invocation.

ROLL CALL

Councilors Austin and Coates attended remotely.

- Present 16 Rex Jordan; Wes Nofire; Daryl Legg; Shawn Crittenden; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere; Julia Coates; Johnny Kidwell; Candessa Tehee; Danny Callison; Joshua Sam; Melvina Shotpouch; Mike Dobbins; E. O. "JR." Smith; Mike Shambaugh and Victoria Vazquez
- Late Arrival 1 Keith Austin

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Councilor Vazquez moved to approve the March regular session minutes. Councilor Patzkowski seconded the motion. The motion carried.

REPORTS:

Marshal Service - Shannon Buhl

Marshal Buhl reported on the newly opened twenty positions for Marshals and a Special Officer. He offered to answer question from the report provided. Councilor Callison requested the information for the Marshal openings be provided to the Council the help get the word out. Chair Shambaugh requested clarification on the Special Officer duties.

Office of the Attorney General - Sara Hill

Attorney General Hill provided an update on the Castro Huerta oral argument held yesterday. She offered to answer questions from the report provided. Councilor Nofire

inquired about the anticipation of future law changes pertaining to abortion. Councilor Dobbins inquired about the case of the state income tax refund for a Cherokee citizen. Councilor Nofire inquired if the State provides us with a copy of their laws when changed. Chair Shambaugh inquired about a Tulsa World article pertaining to a judge making a rule affirming the Curtis Act.

FOIA-GRA - Gwen Terrapin

Ms. Terrapin reported there are four FOIA requests and no GRA requests at this time. All requests are up to date and the website has been updated.

Election Commission - Marcus Fears

Mr. Doherty offered to answer questions from the report provided by *Mr.* Fears. Chair Shambaugh inquired if the Election Commission is in agreement with todays proposed changes to the election code.

Tax Commission - Sharon Swepston

Ms. Swepston provided an update on the Catoosa and Stilwell offices. Councilor Deere inquired about staffing at the Catoosa office. Councilor Sam inquired about a timeline for the Stilwell office. Councilor Smith inquired if the staffing would remain the same once the Stilwell location is open. Chair Shambaugh inquired about additional staff in Jay.

Self-Governance - Ashawna Miles

Ms. Fox offered to answer questions from the report provided.

Gaming Commission - Janice Purcell

Ms. Tia Dill reported in the absence of *Ms.* Purcell. Councilor Nofire inquired about the rules and regulation for citizens self-banning themselves.

Human Resources - Samantha Hendricks

Ms. Alana Casteel offered to answer questions from the report in the absence of Ms. Hendricks. Councilor Tehee inquired about exit interviews. Councilor Callison inquired if once job openings are posted if the Council could be notified to assist in getting the word out. Chair Shambaugh commented on the difficulty in locating the applications on the website.

OLD BUSINESS

 1.
 22-017
 A RESOLUTION DEMONSTRATING SUPPORT FOR UNITED STATES SENATE BILL

 1265 THE "FOURTH AMENDMENT IS NOT FOR SALE" ACT

Councilor Nofire made a motion to table indefinitely. Councilor Deere seconded the motion. The motion carried.

2. <u>22-028</u> AN ACT REVISING AND RESTATING TITLE 26 ("ELECTIONS") OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED

Councilor Vazquez moved to approve substitute version 4 provided. Councilor Patzkowski seconded the motion.

Councilor Deere offered a friendly amendment to remove a portion of Section 37A. Following lengthy discussion the friendly amendment was accepted.

Councilor Coates made a motion to go through the revisions paragraph by paragraph. Councilor Nofire seconded the motion. The motion failed by the following roll call vote:

- Yea: 7 Wes Nofire; Keith Austin; Julia Coates; Johnny Kidwell ; Joshua Sam; Mike Dobbins and Mike Shambaugh
- Nay: 10 Rex Jordan; Daryl Legg; Shawn Crittenden; Dora Patzkowski; Joe Deere; Candessa Tehee; Danny Callison; Melvina Shotpouch; E. O. "JR." Smith and Victoria Vazquez

Councilor Deere withdrew his friendly amendment to strike a portion of Section 37A. Councilor Nofire offered a friendly amendment to strike the portion pertaining to independent expenditures. The friendly was not accepted by the mover Councilor Vazquez. Councilor Nofire offered a friendly amendment to strike Section 31B Candidate Prerequisites for filing. The friendly was not accepted by mover Councilor Vazquez. Following additional discussion Councilor Crittenden called for the question.

The motion to approve substitute version 4 as submitted carried with Councilor Nofire opposed.

NEW BUSINESS

1.	<u>22-033</u>	AN ACT AMENDING TITLE 18 OF THE CHEROKEE NATION CODE ANNOTATED
		Councilor Deere moved to approve. Councilor Patzkowski seconded the motion. All Councilors requested to be added as sponsors. The motion carried.
2.	<u>22-034</u>	A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF BARRY REYNOLDS AS A BOARD MEMBER OF CHEROKEE NATION BUSINESSES, LLC
		Councilor Legg moved to approve. Councilor Tehee seconded the motion. All Councilors requested to be added as sponsors. The motion carried.
3.	<u>22-035</u>	A LEGISLATIVE ACT AMENDING TITLE 63, CHAPTER 2, CHEROKEE NATION COMPREHENSIVE CARE AGENCY ORGANIC ACT, PROVIDING FOR SEVERABILITY AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY
		Councilor Dobbins moved to approve. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. The motion carried.
4.	<u>22-036</u>	A LEGISLATIVE ACT CLARIFYING THE COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THE CHEROKEE NATION HOME HEALTH SERVICES, INC, PROVIDING FOR PAYMENT, PROVIDING FOR SEVERABILITY AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY
		Councilor Patzkowski moved to approve. Councilor Vazquez seconded the motion. The motion carried.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Deere moved to adjourn. Councilor Jordan seconded the motion. The motion carried at 2:52 p.m.

STAFF PRESENT:

Janees Taylor Gwen Terrapin Alana Casteel Ashlee Fox Camerin Fite James Sara Hill Chuck Hoskin Jr. Tia Dill Bryan Warner Shannon Buhl Sharon Swepston

VISITORS PRESENT:

Todd Hembree Barry Reynolds Teddye Snell Harvey Chaffin John Young Rick Doherty

Remote: Dana Geib