

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 16-115 Version: 2 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 11/2/2016 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 11/14/2016
 Final action:
 12/13/2016

 Enactment date:
 12/12/2016
 Enactment #:
 R-091-16

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF MARK L. DOBBINS AS A JUSTICE OF THE

CHEROKEE NATION SUPREME COURT

Sponsors: Joe Byrd, Rex Jordan, Frankie Hargis, Janees Taylor, Bryan Warner, Keith Austin, Victoria Vazquez,

Wanda Hatfield, David Walkingstick, David Thornton, Sr., Curtis Snell

Indexes: Judges, Supreme Court

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-91-16.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/13/2016	2	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
12/12/2016	2	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
11/14/2016	2	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF MARK L. DOBBINS AS A JUSTICE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION SUPREME COURT

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, Justices of the Supreme Court are authorized in Article VIII Section 1 of the Constitution of the Cherokee Nation; and

WHEREAS, the Principal Chief is authorized to appoint Justices subject to majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation; and

WHEREAS, the term of office for Justice of the Supreme Court expires December 31, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Mark L. Dobbins is duly qualified to fill this vacancy.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Mark L. Dobbins is hereby confirmed as a Justice of the Supreme Court of the Cherokee Nation to fulfill the duties of Justices as specified in Article VIII of the Constitution of the Cherokee Nation for a term beginning January 1, 2017 and ending December 31, 2026.