

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	22-0)81	Version:	1	Name:	N/A	
Туре:	Res	olution			Status:	Passed	
File created:	10/1	2/2022			In control:	TRIBAL COUNCIL	
On agenda:	10/2	7/2022			Final action:	11/18/2022	
Enactment date:	11/1	4/2022			Enactment #:	48-22	
Title:	A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES						
Sponsors:	Mike Shambaugh, Dora Patzkowski, Victoria Vazquez, Rex Jordan, E. O. "JR." Smith, Joe Deere						
Indexes:	Nati	National Congress of American Indians, NCAI					
Code sections:	N/A	N/A - Not Applicable					
Attachments:	1. R-48-22						
Date	Ver.	Action By			Ac	tion	Result
11/18/2022	1	OFFICE	OF THE CI	HIEF	Się	gned	
11/14/2022	1	TRIBAL (COUNCIL		Ap	proved	Pass
10/27/2022	1	RULES (COMMITTE	E	Ap	proved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation wishes to become a member in good standing of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Cherokee Nation meets all requirements for Tribal membership, pursuant to Article II, Section B(1) of the Constitution and Article III, Section B(1)(a) of the Bylaws of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Chuck Hoskin Jr., Principal Chief will designate one of the below named forty-three (43) persons as

his representative (alternate) in his absence by a letter stating such.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation, which is the official governing body of the above named tribal nation, hereby authorizes Chuck Hoskin Jr., Principal Chief, to take the necessary actions to place the Nation in membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Nation funds in the amount of \$30,000, based on the tribal Membership Dues Schedule of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, Article III, Section C(2), are authorized to be paid for such Tribal membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the \$30,000 membership fee shall be paid by an equal amount from Executive Branch and Business Enterprises Branch out of existing appropriations; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that, based on the Nation's citizenry of 423,412 persons, the Nation shall have 180 votes, in accordance with Article III, Section B(1) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation supports and approves the below named persons as representatives; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that pursuant to Article III, § B(1)(b) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, the Nation designates the following named persons as Delegate and Alternate Delegate(s) and instructs them to become individual members in good standing in the National Congress of American Indians in order to fulfill their responsibilities as Official Delegates to the National Congress of American Indians Annual Convention and Executive Council Meeting.

DELEGATE: Chuck Hoskin Jr., Principal Chief

ALTERNATEBryan Warner, Deputy Chief

ALTERNATERex Jordan, Council Member, DIST. 1

:

:

File #: 22-081, Version: 1

ALTERNATECandessa Tehee, Council Member, DIST. 2	
ALTERNATEWes Nofire, Council Member, DIST. 3	
ALTERNATEMike Dobbins, Council Member, DIST. 4	
ALTERNATEE.O. Smith, Council Member,DIST 5	
ALTERNATEDaryl Legg, Council Member, DIST. 6	
ALTERNATEJoshua Sam, Council Member, DIST. 7	
ALTERNATEShawn Crittenden, Council Member, DIST. 8	
ALTERNATEMike Shambaugh, Council Member, DIST. 9	
ALTERNATEMelvina Shotpouch, Council Member, DIST. 10	
ALTERNATEVictoria Vazquez, Council Member, DIST. 11	
ALTERNATEDora Patzkowski, Council Member, DIST. 12	
ALTERNATEJoe Deere, Council Member, DIST. 13	
ALTERNATEKeith Austin, Council Member, DIST. 14	
ALTERNATEDanny Callison, Council Member, DIST. 15	
ALTERNATEJulia Coates, Council Member, at large	

ALTERNATEJohnny Kidwell, Council Member, at large	
John Young, Council Attorney ALTERNATE	
• Tina Glory Jordan, Secretary of State ALTERNATE :	
ALTERNATESara Hill, Attorney General	
ALTERNATEJanees Taylor, Treasurer	
ALTERNATEShannon Buhl, Marshal :	
ALTERNATES. Joe Crittenden, Secretary of Veteran Affairs :	
ALTERNATEChad Harsha, Secretary of Natural Resource :	
ALTERNATEKim Teehee, Delegate to Congress :	
ALTERNATECorey Bunch, Chief of Staff :	
ALTERNATEStephen Jones, Health Exe. Dir. :	
ALTERNATEDiane Kelley, Career Services Exe. Dir. :	
ALTERNATEJennifer Kirby, Human Servces Exe. Dir. :	
ALTERNATEHoward Paden, Cherokee Language Exe. Dir. :	

File #: 22-081, Version: 1

ALTERNATEDavid Moore, Facilities Management Exe. Dir.	
ALTERNATEMichael Lynn, Community Development Exe. Dir.	
ALTERNATEAnna Knight, Commerce Exe. Dir. :	
ALTERNATEJerri Killer, Housing Exe. Dir :	
ALTERNATEJulie Hubbard, Public Relations Exe. Dir	
ALTERNATESamantha Hendricks, Human Resources Exe. Dir.	
ALTERNATEMark Vance, Education Deputy Exe. Dir.	
ALTERNATEDerrick Vann, Registration Exe. Dir.	
ALTERNATEKevin Stretch, Cultural & Community Dir.	
ALTERNATESharon Swepston, Tax Commission	
ALTERNATEJanice Purcell, Gaming Commission	