

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-069 **Version:** 2 **Name:** N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 8/6/2015 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 8/17/2015
 Final action:
 9/16/2015

 Enactment date:
 9/14/2015
 Enactment #:
 R-053-15

Title: A RESOLUTION ELECTING THE OFFICE OF SPEAKER FOR THE CHEROKEE NATION TRIBAL

COUNCIL

Sponsors: Frankie Hargis

Indexes: Speaker

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-53-15.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/16/2015	2	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
9/14/2015	2	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
8/17/2015	2	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION ELECTING THE OFFICE OF SPEAKER FOR THE CHEROKEE NATION TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people; and,

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and,

WHEREAS, under Article V of the Cherokee Constitution the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council is a separate and independent branch of the Cherokee Nation government; and,

WHEREAS, The Cherokee Nation Constitution Article VI Section 2 states that the Council shall elect a Speaker and Deputy Speaker from its own membership to officiate over Council meetings; and,

WHEREAS, the Speaker of the Council is to be a member with high qualification and experience capable of performing the duties of the office with fidelity; and,

WHEREAS, under Article VII Section 4 of the Cherokee Nation Constitution states that in case of removal, death, resignation or disability of the Deputy Chief, then the Speaker of the Council shall succeed to that office.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council that Joe Byrd be elected as Speaker of the Cherokee Nation Council for the legislative term beginning September, 2015 and ending August 2017.