

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-080 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 9/10/2015 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 9/24/2015
 Final action:
 10/14/2015

 Enactment date:
 10/12/2015
 Enactment #:
 R-064-15

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF SARA E. HILL AS THE SECRETARY OF

NATURAL RESOURCES FOR THE CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Janees Taylor, Buel Anglen, Keith Austin, Jack D. Baker, Joe Byrd, Shawn Crittenden, Don Garvin,

Frankie Hargis, Wanda Hatfield, Rex Jordan, Dick Lay, Curtis Snell, David Thornton, Sr., Victoria

Vazquez, David Walkingstick, Bryan Warner

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, Secretary of Natural Resources

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-64-15.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/14/2015	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
10/12/2015	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
9/24/2015	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF SARA E. HILL AS THE SECRETARY OF NATURAL RESOURCES FOR THE CHEROKEE NATION

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government on behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article VII, Section 12 of the Cherokee Nation Constitution the Principal Chief is authorized to appoint the Secretary of Natural Resources subject to majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation;

WHEREAS, the Principal Chief has nominated Sara E. Hill as the Secretary of Natural Resources of the Cherokee Nation to fulfill the duties thereof under the Constitution;

WHEREAS, Sara E. Hill is duly qualified to fill this vacancy.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION that Sara E. Hill, is hereby confirmed as the Secretary of Natural Resources of the Cherokee Nation as authorized by Article VII, Section 12 of the Cherokee Nation Constitution. Term of appointment to be from October 2015 to October 2019.