

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-101 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 12/14/2015 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 12/14/2015
 Final action:
 12/16/2015

 Enactment date:
 12/14/2015
 Enactment #:
 R-078-15

Title: A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE CHEROKEE RENEGADES ALL INDIAN MEN'S BASKETBALL

TEAM

Sponsors: Frankie Hargis
Indexes: Recognition

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-78-15.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/16/2015	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
12/14/2015	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
12/14/2015	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE CHEROKEE RENEGADES ALL INDIAN MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, the Council of the Cherokee Nation is privileged to honor and recognize Cherokee Citizens who have a great history, and admirable activities, services or talents; and,

WHEREAS, ten of the eleven (11) members of the Cherokee Renegades Team are Cherokee Citizens of the Cherokee Nation and all team members have obtained their college degrees. Cherokee Renegades are the only Cherokee Team to ever win a NIAA National Championship. Three team members made the All-Star Team (Dickie Sellers, Leroy Qualls, and Joe Byrd), and,

WHEREAS, the Council of the Cherokee Nation hereby recognizes the Cherokee Renegades Team for being outstanding role models and leaders for our future generations; and

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation hereby recognizes Dickie Sellers, Leroy Qualls, Joe Byrd, Alphus Byrd, Larry Claphan, Sammy Jack Claphan, Jerry Holderby, Herman Augerhole, David Shackle, Daryl Meese, and Joel Haas for their 1981 NIAA Championship and outstanding athletic accomplishments.