

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 08-123 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 9/16/2008 In control: Rules Committee

 On agenda:
 9/25/2008
 Final action:
 10/21/2008

 Enactment date:
 10/12/2008
 Enactment #:
 R-85-08

Title: A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE

NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND

ALTERNATES

Sponsors: Meredith Frailey

Indexes: National Congress of American Indians, NCAI

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-85-08

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/21/2008	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
10/13/2008	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
9/25/2008	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation wishes to become a member in good standing of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Cherokee Nation meets all requirements for Tribal membership, pursuant to Article II, Section B (1) of the Constitution and Article III, Section B(1)(a) of the Bylaws of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Chadwick Smith will designate one of the below named nineteen (19) persons as his representative (alternate) in his absence by a letter stating such.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation, which is the official governing body of the above named tribal nation, hereby authorizes Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief, to take the necessary actions to place the Nation in membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Nation funds in the amount

F	ile	#:	08-	123.	Versio	n: 1

of \$25,000, based on the tribal Membership Dues Schedule of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, Article III, Section C(2), are authorized to be paid for such Tribal membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the \$25,000 membership fee shall be paid by an equal amount from Executive Branch and the Legislative Branch out of existing appropriations; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that, based on the Nation's citizenry of 283,268 persons, the Nation shall have 180 votes, in accordance with Article III, Section B(1) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation supports and approves the below named persons as representatives; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that pursuant to Article III, § B(1) (b) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, the Nation designates the following named persons as Delegate and Alternate Delegate(s) and instructs them to become individual members in good standing in the National Congress of American Indians in order to fulfill their responsibilities as Official Delegates to the National Congress of American Indians Annual Convention and Executive Council Meeting.

DELEGATE:	Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief	
ALTERNATE:	Joe Grayson, Jr., Deputy Principal Chief	
ALTERNATE:	Bill John Baker, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	Tina Glory Jordan, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	S. Joe Crittenden, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	Jodie Fishinghawk, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	David W. Thornton, Sr., Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	Janelle Lattimore Fullbright, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	Don Garvin, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	Harley L. Buzzard, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	Curtis G. Snell, Council Member	
ALTERNATE:	Chris Soap, Council Member	

ALTERNATE: Meredith A. Frailey, Council Member

File #: 08-123, Version: 1				
ALTERNATE: Cara Cowan Watts, Council Member				
ALTERNATE: Buel Anglen, Council Member				
ALTERNATE: Bradley Cobb, Council Member				
ALTERNATE: Chuck Hoskin, Jr., Council Member				
ALTERNATE: Julia Coates, Council Member				
ALTERNATE: Jack D. Baker, Council Member				
ALTERNATE: Paula Ragsdale, Sr. Legislative Officer				
ALTERNATE: Melanie Knight, Secretary of State				
ALTERNATE: Melissa Gower, Government Relations Lead	d			
ALTERNATE: Flossie I. Girty, Tribal Relations Officer				