

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 16-114 Version: 2 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 11/2/2016 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 11/14/2016
 Final action:
 12/13/2016

 Enactment date:
 12/12/2016
 Enactment #:
 R-090-16

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF CRYSTAL RAELYNN JACKSON AS A

DISTRICT JUDGE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION DISTRICT COURT

Sponsors: Joe Byrd, Janees Taylor, Bryan Warner, Keith Austin, Victoria Vazquez, Wanda Hatfield, David

Walkingstick, David Thornton, Sr., Curtis Snell, Frankie Hargis

Indexes: District Court, Judges

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-90-16.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/13/2016	2	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
12/12/2016	2	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
11/14/2016	2	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF CRYSTAL RAELYNN JACKSON AS A DISTRICT JUDGE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION DISTRICT COURT

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation District Court was created and authorized by Title 20, Section 11-12, of the Cherokee Nation Code Annotated (CNCA);

WHEREAS, the Principal Chief is authorized to appoint District Judges of the District Court, subject to majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation;

WHEREAS, a current, sitting, District Judge has a term of office that has expired, leaving a vacancy; and

WHEREAS, Crystal Raelynn Jackson is duly qualified to fill this vacancy.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Crystal Raelynn Jackson is confirmed to the position of District Judge of the Cherokee Nation District Court for a term of four (4) years, beginning January 1, 2017 and ending December 31, 2020.