

## Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 17-077 Version: 2 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 7/18/2017 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 7/31/2017
 Final action:
 8/17/2017

 Enactment date:
 8/15/2017
 Enactment #:
 R-054-17

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF VIVIAN COTTRELL AS AN ADVISORY

COMMITTEE MEMBER OF CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES PROGRAM

Sponsors: Joe Byrd, Rex Jordan, Frankie Hargis, Janees Taylor, Victoria Vazquez, Wanda Hatfield, Curtis Snell,

David Thornton, Sr., Bryan Warner, David Walkingstick, Keith Austin

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, National Treasures

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-54-17.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
8/17/2017	2	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
8/15/2017	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Tabled	Fail
8/15/2017	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
7/31/2017	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Tabled	Fail
7/31/2017	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

## A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF VIVIAN COTTRELL AS AN ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBER OF CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES PROGRAM

**WHEREAS**, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, Resolution Number 74-88 was enacted establishing the "Living National Treasures-Master Craftsman Series of the Lost Arts Program" on August 13, 1988, and amended to be named the Cherokee National Treasures Program in June 2008;

WHEREAS, all elected and appointed officers of the Nation are bound by oath to promote the culture, heritage and traditions of the Cherokee Nation (Cherokee Constitution, Article XIII Section 1);

WHEREAS, there shall be an Advisory Committee made up of five members who shall provide their recommendations for up to three (3) National Treasurers to the Principal Chief;

**WHEREAS**, the Advisory Committee Members shall be nominated by the Principal Chief and confirmed by the Tribal Council pursuant to Legislative Act 30-04;

WHEREAS, Vivian Cottrell is duly qualified and has been nominated to the advisory committee on National

## File #: 17-077, Version: 2

Treasure Award by the Principal Chief, for a term of three years.

**BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION**, that Vivian Cottrell is hereby confirmed as a Member of the Cherokee Nation National Treasures Program Advisory Committee and is hereby confirmed for a term of three years.