

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 17-097 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 9/13/2017 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 9/28/2017
 Final action:
 10/24/2017

 Enactment date:
 10/23/2017
 Enactment #:
 R-067-17

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF DAWNENA SQUIRREL AS A BOARD

MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION CORPORATION

Sponsors: Victoria Vazquez, Bryan Warner, Wanda Hatfield

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, Cherokee Nation Community Association Corporation

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-67-17.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/24/2017	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
10/23/2017	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
9/28/2017	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF DAWNENA SQUIRREL AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION CORPORATION

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation has formed a nonprofit corporation organized exclusively for charitable and educational purposes, to provide educational assistance to citizens of the Cherokee Nation and to promote and preserve the language, culture, and history of the Cherokee Nation;

WHEREAS, the Principal Chief is authorized to select the members of the Board of Directors, subject to majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation; and

WHEREAS, Dawnena Squirrel is duly qualified and should be reappointed to Seat One (1);

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Dawnena Squirrel is hereby confirmed as a Board Member of Cherokee Nation Community Association Corporation for a term of four (4) years commencing October 2017 until October 2021.