

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-056 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 8/1/2018 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 8/13/2018
 Final action:
 8/16/2018

 Enactment date:
 8/13/2018
 Enactment #:
 R-036-18

Title: A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE EXPANSION OF THE SECTION 184 INDIAN HOME LOAN

GUARANTEE PROGRAM TO INCLUDE CERTAIN COUNTIES IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS AND

THE STATE OF TEXAS

Sponsors: Wanda Hatfield, Mary Baker Shaw, Dick Lay

Indexes: Section 184

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-36-18.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
8/16/2018	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
8/13/2018	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
8/13/2018	1	COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE EXPANSION OF THE SECTION 184 INDIAN HOME LOAN GUARANTEE PROGRAM TO INCLUDE CERTAIN COUNTIES IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS AND THE STATE OF TEXAS

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, U.S. Congress established the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program as a home mortgage product specifically designed for American Indians to facilitate homeownership and access to capital in Native American Communities; and

WHEREAS, Since 2014, Cherokee Nation has assisted 464 families in receiving the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program through the Mortgage Assistance Program; and

WHEREAS, the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program is not approved for Benton, Washington, Crawford, and Sebastian counties in the State of Arkansas; and

WHEREAS, there are 7,991 Cherokee Citizens residing in these counties, as well as 218 Cherokee Nation Government and Cherokee Nation Businesses employees that live in these counties; and

WHEREAS, the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program is not approved for Grayson, Fannin, Lamar, Dallas, and Collin Counties in the State of Texas; and

File #: 18-056, Version: 1

WHEREAS, there are 2,930 Cherokee Citizens residing in these counties, as well as Cherokee Nation Government and Cherokee Nation Businesses employees that live in these counties; and

WHEREAS, many of these Citizens enjoy the benefits of Cherokee Nation Health Services as Our facilities are a relatively short distance from them; and

WHEREAS, The Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes approved *Resolution 18-16* in support of including these counties in the State of Arkansas and the State of Texas to be approved to participate in the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program;

WHEREAS, the expansion of the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program in the State of Arkansas will facilitate homeownership and access to capital that is beneficial to the Citizens and the communities in which they live.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Council of the Cherokee Nation supports the expansion of the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program to include Benton, Washington, Crawford, and Sebastian counties in the State of Arkansas.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation supports the expansion of the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program to include Grayson, Fannin, Lamar, Dallas, and Collin Counties in the State of Texas.