

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-062 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 8/15/2019 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 8/29/2019

 Final action:
 9/23/2019

 Enactment date:
 9/16/2019

 Enactment #:
 R-048-19

Title: A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE

NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND

ALTERNATES

Sponsors: Rex Jordan, Canaan Duncan, E. O. "JR." Smith, Victoria Vazquez, Joe Byrd, Mary Baker Shaw, Daryl

Legg, Keith Austin, Dora Patzkowski, Joe Deere, Shawn Crittenden, Mike Shambaugh, Julia Coates,

Mike Dobbins

Indexes: National Congress of American Indians, NCAI

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-48-19.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/23/2019	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
9/16/2019	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
8/29/2019	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation wishes to become a member in good standing of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Cherokee Nation meets all requirements for Tribal membership, pursuant to Article II, Section B (1) of the Constitution and Article III, Section B(1)(a) of the Bylaws of the Nation Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Chuck Hoskin Jr., Principal Chief will designate one of the below named forty-three (43) persons as his representative (alternate) in his absence by a letter stating such.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation, which is the official governing body of the above named tribal nation, hereby authorizes Chuck Hoskin Jr., Principal Chief, to take the necessary actions to place the Nation in membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Nation funds in the amount of \$30,000, based on the tribal Membership Dues Schedule of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, Article III, Section C(2), are authorized to be paid for such Tribal membership in the Nation Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the \$30,000 membership fee shall be paid by an equal amount from Executive Branch and the Legislative Branch out of existing appropriations; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that, based on the Nation's citizenry of 377,535 persons, the Nation shall have 180 votes, in accordance with Article III, Section B(1) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation supports and approves the below named persons as representatives; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that pursuant to Article III, § B(1) (b) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, the Nation designates the following named persons as Delegate and Alternate Delegate(s) and instructs them to become individual members in good standing in the National Congress of American Indians in order to fulfill their responsibilities as Official Delegates to the National Congress of American Indians Annual Convention and Executive Council Meeting.

DELEGAT Chuck Hoskin Jr., Principal Chief E :	
ALTERNA Bryan Warner, Deputy Chief TE:	
ALTERNA Rex Jordan, Council Member, DIST. 1 TE:	
ALTERNA Joe Byrd, Council Member, DIST. 2 TE:	
ALTERNA Wes Nofire, Council Member, DIST. 3 TE:	
ALTERNA Mike Dobbins, Council Member, DIST. 4 TE:	
ALTERNA E.O. Smith, Council Member, DIST 5 TE:	
ALTERNA Daryl Legg, Council Member, DIST. 6 TE:	
ALTERNA Canaan Duncan, Council Member, DIST. 7 TE:	

File #: 19-062, Version: 1	
ALTERNA Shawn Crittenden, Council Member, DIST. 8	
TE: ALTERNA Mike Shambaugh, Council Member, DIST. 9 TE:	
ALTERNA Harley Buzzard, Council Member, DIST. 10 TE:	
ALTERNA Victoria Vazquez, Council Member, DIST. 11 TE:	
ALTERNA Dora Patzkowski, Council Member, DIST. 12 TE:	
ALTERNA Joe Deere, Council Member, DIST. 13 TE:	
ALTERNA Keith Austin, Council Member, DIST. 14 TE:	
ALTERNA Janees Taylor, Council Member, DIST. 15 TE:	
ALTERNA Julia Coates, Council Member, At large TE:	
ALTERNA Mary Baker Shaw, Council Member, At large TE:	
Tina Glory Jordan, Secretary of State ALTERNA TE:	
ALTERNA Sara Hill, Attorney General TE:	
ALTERNA Tralynna Scott, Treasurer TE:	
ALTERNA Shannon Buhl, Marshal TE:	
ALTERNA Chad Harsha, Secretary of Natural Resource TE:	
ALTERNA Todd Enlow, Chief of Staff TE:	

File #: 19-062, Version: 1				
ALTERNA Gina Blackfox, Senior Advisor to the Chief TE:				
ALTERNA Dr. Stephen Jones, Health Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA Diane Kelley, Career Services Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA Marsha Lamb, Human Services Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA Lou Stretch, Childrens Services Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA David Moore, Facilities Management Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA Michael Lynn, Community Development Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA Anna Knight, Commerce Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA Gary Cooper, Housing Exe. Dir TE:				
ALTERNA Kimberly Teehee, Government Relations Exe. Dir TE:				
ALTERNA Julie Hubbard, Public Relations Exe. Dir TE:				
ALTERNA Nason Morton, Human Resources Exe. Dir. TE:	_			
ALTERNA Todd Gourd, Executive Chief Info. Officer TE:	_			
ALTERNA Ron Etheridge, Education Deputy Exe. Dir. TE:				
ALTERNA Frankie Hargis, Registration TE:	_			
ALTERNA Kevin Stretch, Cultural & Community Dir.				

File #: 19-062, Version: 1					
ALTERNA Sharon Swepston, Tax Commission TE:					
ALTERNA Jamie Hummingbird, Gaming Commission TE:					