

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-067 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 9/12/2019 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 9/26/2019
 Final action:
 10/17/2019

 Enactment date:
 10/15/2019
 Enactment #:
 R-051-19

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF FARRELL PRATER AS A MEMBER OF

THE REGISTRATION COMMITTEE

Sponsors: Keith Austin, Janees Taylor, Rex Jordan, Mike Shambaugh, Daryl Legg, Dora Patzkowski, E. O. "JR."

Smith, Victoria Vazquez, Canaan Duncan, Joe Byrd, Joe Deere

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, Registrar, Registration

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-51-19.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/17/2019	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
10/15/2019	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved in toto	Pass
9/26/2019	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF FARRELL PRATER AS A MEMBER OF THE REGISTRATION COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government on behalf of the Cherokee people; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation Registration Committee was created under Article III, Section 2 of the Constitution of 1975;

WHEREAS, the Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation is authorized to appoint the Committee members subject to confirmation by majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation;

WHEREAS, the term of the Registration Committee members is concurrent with the Principal Chief's term; and

WHEREAS, Farrell Prater is duly qualified to fill this vacancy pursuant to Article III, Section 2 of the Constitution of 1975.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Farrell Prater is hereby confirmed as a member of the Cherokee Nation Registration Committee and will serve a term from October 2019 and expiring October 31, 2023.