

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-084 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 10/16/2019 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 10/31/2019
 Final action:
 11/20/2019

 Enactment date:
 11/12/2019
 Enactment #:
 R-063-19

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF JOHN SPARKS AS MEMBER OF THE

CHEROKEE NATION GAMING COMMISSION

Sponsors: Dora Patzkowski, Janees Taylor, Keith Austin, Rex Jordan, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Victoria

Vazquez, Joe Deere, Mike Shambaugh, Julia Coates

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, Gaming

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-63-19.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/20/2019	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
11/12/2019	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
10/31/2019	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF JOHN SPARKS AS MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION GAMING COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government on behalf of the Cherokee people; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, The Principal Chief, as a representative of the Cherokee Nation is authorized to select members of the Cherokee Nation Gaming Commission, subject to the majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation; and,

WHEREAS, John Sparks is duly qualified and should be a member of the Cherokee Nation Gaming Commission and its successors.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that John Sparks is hereby confirmed as a member of the Cherokee Nation Gaming Commission, serving a term of (3) three years from November 2019 to November 31, 2022.