

10/31/2019

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-086 Version: 2 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 10/16/2019 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 10/31/2019
 Final action:
 11/20/2019

 Enactment date:
 11/12/2019
 Enactment #:
 R-065-19

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF KRISTY STURGILL AS AN EDITORIAL

BOARD MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE PHOENIX

Sponsors: Joe Byrd, Keith Austin, Joe Deere

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, Editorial Board - Cherokee Phoenix

RULES COMMITTEE

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable **Attachments:** 1. R-65-19.PDF

1

DateVer.Action ByActionResult11/20/20192OFFICE OF THE CHIEFSigned11/12/20192TRIBAL COUNCILApproved in totoPass

10/31/2019 2 RULES COMMITTEE Approved and Forwarded to Council Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF KRISTY STURGILL AS AN EDITORIAL BOARD MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE PHOENIX

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation, since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government on behalf of the Cherokee People; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, the Free and Independent Press for the Cherokee Nation, Editorial Board was created and authorized by Legislative Act 19-00;

WHEREAS, Kristi Sturgill is nominated by the Council of the Cherokee Nation to fill a vacancy and serve a term as Editorial Board Member of the Cherokee Phoenix effective November 12, 2019 through November 30, 2025, as authorized by Legislative Act 16-09;

WHEREAS, Kristy Sturgill is duly qualified to fill this vacancy pursuant to the laws of the Cherokee Nation.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CHEROKEE NATION that Kristy Sturgill is hereby confirmed as a Board Member of the Editorial Board of the Cherokee Phoenix for a term effective November 12, 2019 through November 30, 2025 as authorized by Legislative Act 16-09, the Act of June 15, 2009.