

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-031 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 6/12/2020 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 6/25/2020
 Final action:
 7/1/2020

 Enactment date:
 6/25/2020
 Enactment #:
 R-019-20

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MARIA ELIZABETH BALLEW AS THE

FIFTH MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ELECTION COMMISSION

Sponsors: Rex Jordan

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, Election Board Commission, Election Commission

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-19-20.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
7/1/2020	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
6/25/2020	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
6/25/2020	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MARIA ELIZABETH BALLEW AS THE FIFTH MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ELECTION COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation Election Commission was created and authorized by Legislative Act 7-97 and amended Legislative Act 12-16; and

WHEREAS, Section 11 of said Act authorizes the four (4) previously appointed Commissioners of the Cherokee Nation Election Commission to select a fifth member to be confirmed by the Principal Chief and the Council of the Cherokee Nation, and

WHEREAS, the remaining commissioners have selected Maria Elizabeth Ballew to fill the unexpired term of Carolyn Allen, seat five (5) who has resigned.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Maria Elizabeth Ballew is hereby confirmed as a Commissioner of the Cherokee Nation Election Commission, seat five (5), filling the unexpired term of Carolyn Allen, for a term beginning June 2020 and ending December 2021.