

## Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-050 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 9/9/2020 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 9/24/2020
 Final action:
 10/20/2020

 Enactment date:
 10/13/2020
 Enactment #:
 R-029-20

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF VIVIAN GARNER COTTRELL AS AN

ADVISORY MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

**Sponsors:** Victoria Vazquez, Keith Austin, Harley Buzzard, Joe Byrd, Julia Coates, Shawn Crittenden, Joe Deere,

Mike Dobbins, Canaan Duncan, Rex Jordan, Daryl Legg, Dora Patzkowski, Wes Nofire, Mike

Shambaugh, Mary Baker Shaw, E. O. "JR." Smith, Janees Taylor

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, National Treasures

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-29-20.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/20/2020	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
10/13/2020	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
9/24/2020	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF VIVIAN GARNER COTTRELL AS AN ADVISORY MEMBER OF THE CHEROKEE NATIONAL TREASURES ADVISORY COMMITTEE WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, Resolution Number 74-88 was enacted establishing the "Living National Treasures-Master Craftsman Series of the Lost Arts Program" on August 13, 1988, and amended to be named the Cherokee National Program in June 2008;

WHEREAS, all elected and appointed officers of the Nation are bound by oath to promote the culture, heritage and traditions of the Cherokee Nation (Cherokee Constitution, Article XIII Section 1);

WHEREAS, there shall be an Advisory Committee made up of five members who shall provide their recommendations for up to three (3) National Treasures to the Principal Chief;

WHEREAS, the Advisory Committee Members shall be nominated by the Principal Chief and confirmed by the Tribal Council pursuant to Legislative Act 30-04;

**WHEREAS**, Vivian Cottrell is duly qualified and has been nominated to the advisory committee on National Treasure Award by the Principal Chief, for a term of three years.

File #: 20-050, Version: 1

**BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION**, that Vivian Cottrell is hereby confirmed as a Member of the Cherokee Nation National Treasurers Program Advisory Committee and is hereby confirmed for a term of three years that will expire October 2023.