

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-076 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 8/11/2021 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 8/26/2021
 Final action:
 8/30/2021

 Enactment date:
 8/26/2021
 Enactment #:
 R-038-21

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF JANEES TAYLOR AS TREASURER OF THE

CHEROKEE NATION

Sponsors: Keith Austin, Victoria Vazquez, Dora Patzkowski, Shawn Crittenden, Rex Jordan, Mike Dobbins, Julia

Coates, Daryl Legg, E. O. "JR." Smith, Joe Deere, Mike Shambaugh, Candessa Tehee, Melvina

Shotpouch

Indexes: Treasurer

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-38-21-.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
8/30/2021	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
8/26/2021	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
8/26/2021	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF JANEES TAYLOR AS TREASURER OF THE CHEROKEE NATION

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of selfgovernment in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article VII, Section 12, of the Constitution of the Cherokee Nation, the Principal Chief is authorized to appoint the Treasurer subject to majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation;

WHEREAS, the Office of Treasurer is defined in Chapter 4, Title 51 of the Cherokee Nation Code Annotated;

WHEREAS, Janees Taylor is duly qualified to fill the office of Treasurer of the Cherokee Nation.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Janees Taylor is hereby confirmed as the Treasurer of the Cherokee Nation, to fulfill the duties of Treasurer as specified by Article X of the Constitution of the Cherokee Nation for a term beginning August 2021 and ending August 2023.