

## Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-087 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 9/14/2021 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 9/30/2021
 Final action:
 10/19/2021

 Enactment date:
 10/12/2021
 Enactment #:
 R-049-21

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF THOMAS MERRELL AS A BOARD

MEMBER OF THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TRUST AUTHORITY

**Sponsors:** Keith Austin

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, Economic Development Trust Authority

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-49-21.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/19/2021	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
10/12/2021	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
9/30/2021	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

## A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF THOMAS MERRELL AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TRUST AUTHORITY

**WHEREAS**, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

**WHEREAS**, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

**WHEREAS**, the Cherokee Nation Economic Development Trust Authority was created and authorized by Legislative Act 36-89;

**WHEREAS**, the Principal Chief is authorized by Legislative Act 4-02 and the Bylaws, Article XI, of the Economic Development Trust Authority to select the members of the Board of Directors subject to majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation;

**WHEREAS**, Thomas Merrell is duly qualified to fill this position pursuant to the Bylaws of the Economic Development Trust Authority Board of Directors and is hereby nominated for reappointment; and,

**BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION,** that Thomas Merrell is hereby confirmed as a member of the Board of Directors for the Economic Development Trust Authority for a term of 3 (three) years beginning October 30, 2021 until October 30, 2024.