

Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 22-014 Version: 1 Name: N/A

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 1/27/2022 In control: TRIBAL COUNCIL

 On agenda:
 1/27/2022
 Final action:
 2/21/2022

 Enactment date:
 2/14/2022
 Enactment #:
 R-010-22

Title: A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF T. LUKE BARTEAUX AS A DISTRICT

JUDGE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION DISTRICT COURT

Sponsors: Mike Shambaugh, Victoria Vazquez, Dora Patzkowski, Rex Jordan, Candessa Tehee, Daryl Legg,

Shawn Crittenden, Joe Deere, Danny Callison

Indexes: Boards and Commissions, District Court, Judges

Code sections: N/A - Not Applicable

Attachments: 1. R-10-22.PDF

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/21/2022	1	OFFICE OF THE CHIEF	Signed	
2/14/2022	1	TRIBAL COUNCIL	Approved	Pass
1/27/2022	1	RULES COMMITTEE	Approved and Forwarded to Council	Pass

A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF T. LUKE BARTEAUX AS A DISTRICT JUDGE OF THE CHEROKEE NATION DISTRICT COURT

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of self-government in behalf of the Cherokee people;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America;

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation District Court was created and authorized by Title 20, Section 11-12, of the Cherokee Nation Code Annotated (CNCA);

WHEREAS, the Principal Chief is authorized to appoint District Judges of the District Court, subject to majority vote of the Council of the Cherokee Nation;

WHEREAS, Luke Barteaux is duly qualified and should be reappointed as a District Judge pursuant to the laws of the Cherokee Nation;

File #: 22-014, Version: 1

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation hereby confirms Luke Barteaux to the position of District Judge of the Cherokee Nation District Court for a term of four (4) years beginning February 15th, 2022 and expiring February 2026.