

Legislation Text

File #: 14-079, Version: 1

A RESOLUTION AUTORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of selfgovernment in behalf of the Cherokee people; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation wishes to become a member in good standing of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Cherokee Nation meets all requirements for Tribal Membership, pursuant to Article II, Section B (1) of the Constitution and Articla III, Section B(1)(a) of the Bylaws of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Bill John Baker, Principal Chief, will designate one of the below named thirty-six (36) persons as his representative (alternate) in his absence by a letter stating such.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation, which is the official governing body of the above named Tribal Nation, hereby authorizes Bill John Baker, Principal Chief, to take the necessary actions to place the Cherokee Nation in membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Cherokee Nation funds in the amount of \$25,000, based on the Tribal Membership Dues Schedule of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, Article III, Section C(2), are authorized to be paid for such Tribal Membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the \$25,000 membership fee shall be paid by an equal amount from the Executive Branch and the Legislative Branch out of existing appropriations; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that, based on the Cherokee Nation's citizenry of 309,348 persons, the Cherokee Nation shall have 180 votes, in accordance with Article III Section B(1) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation supports and approves the below named persons as representaives; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that pursuant to Article III, § B(1) (b) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, the Cherokee Nation designates the following named

File #: 14-079, Version: 1

persons as Delegate and Alternate Delegate(s) and instructs them to become individual members in good standing in the National Congress of American Indians in order to fulfill their responsibilities as Official Delegates to the National Congress of American Indians Annual Convention and Executive Council Meeting.

	ı
DELEGA Bill John Baker, Principal Chief	
TE:	
ALTERN S. Joe Crittenden, Deputy Chief	
ATE:	
ALTERN Tina Glory-Jordan, Speaker	
ATE:	
ALTERN Janelle Lattimore Fulbright, Deputy Speaker	
ATE:	
ALTERN Jodie Fishinghawk, Council Secretary	
ATE:	
ALTERN Joe Byrd, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN David Walkingstick, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN Don Garvin, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN David W. Thornton, Sr., Council Member	
ALTERN Frankie Hargis, Council Member	
ALTERN Curtis G. Snell, Council Member	
ATE: ALTERN Harley Dyggord Council Member	
ALTERN Harley Buzzard, Council Member ATE:	
ALTERN Victoria Mitchell-Vazquez, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN Dick Lay, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN Cara Cowan Watts, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN Lee Keener, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN Janees Taylor, Council Member	
ΑΤΕ:	
ALTERN Jack D. Baker, Council Member	
ΑΤΕ:	
ALTERN Julia Coates, Council Member	
ATE:	
ALTERN Chuck Hoskin, Jr., Secretary of State	
ATE:	
ALTERN Todd Hembree, Attorney General	
ATE:	
ALTERN Lacey Horn, Treasurer	
ATE:	

ALTERN Shannon Buhl, Marshal	
ATE: ALTERN Chuck Hoskin, Chief of Staff	
ATE: ALTERN Gina Blackfox, Senior Advisor to the Chief	
ATE: ALTERN S. Diane Kelley, Career Services Exe. Dir.	
ATE: ALTERN Connie Davis, Health Deputy Exe. Dir.	
ATE: ALTERN Gary Cooper, Housing Exe. Dir.	
ATE: ALTERN Ron Qualls, Community Development Exe. Dir.	
ATE:	
ALTERN Bill Andoe, Education Deputy Exe. Dir. ATE:	
ALTERN Marsha Lamb, Human Services Exe. Dir. ATE:	
ALTERN Anna Knight, Commerce Exe. Dir. ATE:	
ALTERN Bruce Davis, Facilities Management Exe. Dir. ATE:	
ALTERN Sharon Swepston, Tax Commission	
ATE: ALTERN Jamie Hummingbird, Gaming Commission Dir.	
ATE: ALTERN Linda O'Leary, Tribal Registrar	
ATE: ALTERN Courtney R. Thompson, Government Affairs	
ATE: ALTERN Amanda Clinton, Communications/Government Affairs Dir.	
ATE:	
ALTERN Nason Morton, Human Resources Exe. Dir. ATE:	
Nikki Baker-Limore, Indian Child Welfare Exe. Dir. ALTERN	
ATE: ALTERN Dianne Barker-Harrold, Council Attorney ATE:	