Legislation Text

File #: 16-102, Version: 1

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CHEROKEE NATION TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS AND TO APPOINT THE TRIBAL DELEGATE AND ALTERNATES

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation since time immemorial has exercised the sovereign rights of selfgovernment in behalf of the Cherokee people; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation is a federally recognized Indian Nation with a historic and continual government to government relationship with the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, the Cherokee Nation wishes to become a member in good standing of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Cherokee Nation meets all requirements for Tribal membership, pursuant to Article II, Section B (1) of the Constitution and Article III, Section B(1)(a) of the Bylaws of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, Bill John Baker, Principal Chief will designate one of the below named forty-two (42) persons as his representative (alternate) in his absence by a letter stating such.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation, which is the official governing body of the above named tribal nation, hereby authorizes Bill John Baker, Principal Chief, to take the necessary actions to place the Nation in membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that Nation funds in the amount of \$25,000, based on the tribal Membership Dues Schedule of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, Article III, Section C(2), are authorized to be paid for such Tribal membership in the National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the \$25,000 membership fee shall be paid by an equal amount from Executive Branch and the Legislative Branch out of existing appropriations; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that, based on the Nation's citizenry of 340,313 persons, the Nation shall have 180 votes, in accordance with Article III, Section B(1) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that the Council of the Cherokee Nation supports and approves the below named persons as representatives; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION, that pursuant to Article III, § B(1)

File #: 16-102, Version: 1

(b) of the National Congress of American Indians Bylaws, the Nation designates the following named persons as Delegate and Alternate Delegate(s) and instructs them to become individual members in good standing in the National Congress of American Indians in order to fulfill their responsibilities as Official Delegates to the National Congress of American Indians Annual Convention and Executive Council Meeting.

DELEGAT Bill John Baker, Principal Chief E:	
ALTERNAS. Joe Crittenden, Deputy Chief TE:	
ALTERNAJoe Byrd, Speaker, DIST. 2 TE:	
ALTERNAVictoria Vazquez Deputy Speaker, DIST. 11 TE:	
ALTERNAFrankie Hargis, Secretary, DIST. 7 TE:	
ALTERNARex Jordan, Council Member, DIST. 1 TE:	
ALTERNADavid Walkingstick, Council Member, DIST. 3 TE:	
ALTERNAShawn Crittenden, Council Member, DIST. 8 TE:	
ALTERNACurtis G. Snell, Council Member, DIST. 9 TE:	
ALTERNABryan Warner, Council Member, DIST. 6 TE:	
ALTERNADavid W. Thornton, Sr., Council Member, DIST 5 TE:	
ALTERNADon Garvin, Council Member, DIST. 4 TE:	
ALTERNADick Lay, Council Member, DIST. 12 TE:	
ALTERNAJanees Taylor, Council Member, DIST. 15 TE:	

ALTERNAHarley Buzzard, Council Member, DIST. 10 TE: ALTERNAKeith Austin, Council Member, DIST. 14 TE: ALTERNABuel Anglen, Council Member, DIST. 13 TE: ALTERNAJack D. Baker, Council Member, at large TE: ALTERNAWanda Hatfield, Council Member, at large TE: Dianne Barker Harrold, Council Attorney ALTERNA TE: Chuck Hoskin, Jr. Secretary of State **ALTERNA** TE: ALTERNATodd Hembree, Attorney General TE: **ALTERNAL**acey Horn, Treasurer TE: **ALTERNAS**hannon Buhl, Marshal TE: ALTERNASara Hill, Secretary of Natural Resource TE: ALTERNAChuck Hoskin, Chief of Staff TE: ALTERNAGina Blackfox, Senior Advisor to the Chief TE: ALTERNAConnie Davis, Health Exe. Dir. TE: ALTERNARon Etheridge, Education Deputy Exe. Dir. TE:

ALTERNADiane Kelley, Career Services Exe. Dir. TE:	
ALTERNAMarsha Lamb, Human Services Exe. Dir. TE:	
ALTERNANikki Baker, Childrens Services Exe. Dir. TE:	
ALTERNAAnna Knight, Commerce Exe. Dir. TE:	
ALTERNABruce Davis, Facilities Management Exe. Dir. TE:	
ALTERNARon Qualls, Community Development Exe. Dir TE:	
ALTERNAGary Cooper, Housing Exe. Dir. TE:	
ALTERNAJamie Hummingbird, Gaming Commission TE:	
ALTERNASharon Swepston, Tax Commission TE:	
ALTERNAKimberly Teehee, Government Relations Exe. Dir TE:	
ALTERNAAmanda Clinton, Public Relations Exe. Dir. TE:	
ALTERNALinda O'Leary, Registration TE:	
ALTERNARob Daugherty, Cultural & Community Dir. TE:	
ALTERNANasonMorton, Human Resources Exe. Dir. TE:	