

## Council of the Cherokee Nation

Cherokee Nation Tribal Council 17763 S. Muskogee Ave. Tahlequah, OK 74464

## **Legislation Text**

File #: LA-35-89, Version: 1

Enrolled

Legislative Act #35-89 1989

AN ACT RELATING TO CHEROKEE NATION OF OKLAHOMA LAW REGARDING REPRESENTATION BY DISTRICT ADDING NEW ITEMS; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

BE IT ENACTED BY THE CHEROKEE NATION:

TITLE 10

Section 10-1-4: REPRESENTATION BY DISTRICT

There shall be established nine (9) representative districts within the historical boundaries/jurisdiction of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma. These districts include only that portion of

any existing county which lies within the historical boundary of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma and are established as follows:

District 1 District 2 District 3 District 4 District 5 District 7 District 7 District 8 District 9 (Cherokee County)

(Adair County)

(Sequoyah County)

(McIntosh, Muskogee & Wagoner Counties) (Delaware and Ottawa Counties)

(Mayes County)

(Rogers County)

(Tulsa and Washington Counties)

(Craig and Nowata Counties)

The names of these districts shall be determined by popular vote in the 1991 Cherokee Tribal Election by the eligible voters of the respective district.

Eligible voters from Districts 6, 7, 8 and 9 shall elect one representative each to the council. Eligible voters from Districts 2, 3, 4 and 5 shall elect two representatives each to the council. District 1 shall elect three representatives to the council.

Apportionment of representation shall be attained by first dividing the combined total population of all tribal members residing within the historical boundaries of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma by fifteen (15). This figure must then be divided into the total population of all tribal members residing within each district. The resulting percentage will determine the number of representatives per district. All percentage points .5 or higher will be rounded upward to the nearest whole number and all percentage points less than .5 will be rounded downward to the nearest whole number.

Passed by the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council on this 14th day of October, 1989.

John A. Ketcher, President Cherokee Nation Council

Approved and signed by the Principal Chief this 14th day of October, 1989.

Wilma P. Mankiller, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma

ATTEST: Gary D. Chapman, Secretary/Treasurer of the Cherokee Nation